arg

The petition addressed to the city council of Centerville states that a ban on the usage of cellphones on the sidewalks must me imposed in order to address the growing problem of “sidewalk rage”, wherein there’s been an increase in the number of assaults, property damage and disruptions in the normal pedestrian traffic. This argument is riddled with holes; it has many unwarranted assumptions, implicit or otherwise, without which the petition won’t be valid.

Firstly, an overt assumption has been made regarding the cause of the increase in the crime cases on sidewalks. It’s been alleged that the use of cell phones by pedestrians obstructs the pathways and brings about a delay in the normal pedestrian traffic. It is also claimed that people using cellphones on the road tend to walk into other people or walk into the road. I don’t disagree with the fact that this could be a reason for the augmentation of sidewalk rage cases, but I also don’t agree with the unstated assumption that imposing a ban on the use of cellphones by pedestrians would put an end to the problem at hand. This is because, there can be numerous other reasons for the sidewalk crimes. For example, pedestrains could be hit by irrational drivers on the road, who might be in a haste, or who might even be inebriated. This could also cause them to ram their vehicles into public properties on the pathway, leading to damage and destruction. When we look at the possibilities of assaults, public assaults can take place in broad daylight with any person, irrespective of the fact that the person is making use of a cellphone or not. So all of these point towards the unavailability of sufficient information on the kinds of cases that actually do get recorded in the city of Centerville, and without these statistics, the argument will stand unwarranted for.

Moreover, the comparision that has been made with the city of Middletown is also not appropriate because of various reasons. In the first place, Middletown and Centreville are two different cities. Just because Centerville passed a similar ban and produced good results, there’s no guarantee that passing the same one would yield similar results. The people of Middletown might vary from those residing in Centreville. The crime rates could be lower in the former compared to the latter city. There is also a possibility that Middletown passed various other laws along with the ban on cellphones, which all together resulted in the decreased crime rates on the sidewalk for them. The time of the ban in Middletown is also not explicity mentioned; the ban could have been imposed a long while back too. And if any of these were the case, it would be futile to compare the effects of a ban in Middletown with the possible effects of the same ban in Centerville.

Therefore, in conclusion, we can’t really guarantee for the success of the ban on cellphones in Centreville in an attempt to reduce the sidewalk crime rates. If only a little more evidence was provided in some aspects, some of the assumptions might have made sense. But then again, a lot of information and statistical details are missing for us to be able to agree with the given petition.