"In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County recently lowered its speed limit from 55 miles per hour to 45 on all major county roads. But the 55 mph limit should be restored, because this safety effort has failed. Most drivers are exceeding the new speed limit and the accident rate throughout Prunty County has decreased only slightly. If we want to improve the safety of our roads, we should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths and resurfacing rough roads. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago."

The argument states that Prunty highway lowered speed limit with the goal of improving highway safety last year and the effort has failed. Thus, author provides another solution that the county should implement similar strategy implemented by another county five years ago and expects that the highway safety will be improved. The author also provides few data to substantiate the claim. However, a careful scrutiny reveals the support and basis provided are not credible. Hence the argument can be considered incomplete and unsubstantiated.

Firstly, the argument assumes that efforts by the county has failed on the basis that accident has not decreased. However, we cannot be sure that the accidents are due to speed and the purpose of speed limit could be something else too. Regarding accidents, there may be other unconsidered facts and scenarios. For instance, many drivers may not be licensed or experienced. we do not know if such security measured are properly analyzed and maintained by county. It is also equally possible that many drivers drive while drinking and causing the accidents which may also explain why many drivers are exceeding speed limit.

Furthermore, no information is provided about the demographics of the counties compared and without proper analysis, it cannot be asserted that a solution that worked fr Butler country is certain to work in Prunty County. It also not clear about the current condition of roads in Prunty County and it is equally essential to determine the demand of expansion of road and its necessity before making such judgment.

Furthermore, the data provided in the argument are not clearly detailed and are equivocal. The author mentions 'many' drivers are exceeding limit, but we do not have idea about its absolute value, it could be lesser than previous year or could be more but its uncertain. Likewise, it is mentioned that the Butler county completed similar road improvement project five years ago, but the comparison has only made for past year. we do not know if the project had improvements in highway safety immediately after the project was completed and comparing only last year's data is not sufficient.

In conclusion, although it is likely that a road improvement project may bring some change in the Prunty County, it cannot be claimed with certainty. A proper analysis of the current condition of roads is required to access the need of further improvement. Also, the basis provided from Butler county is not reliable since we cannot be clear about the impact it had on the road safety merely from evidences provided.