Seniority (years of service) should not be the basis of employee compensation. Employees should be promoted and given raises solely on the basis of their work performance and merit. That is a better way to encourage high productivity.

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the opinion stated above. Support your views with reasons and/or examples from your own experience, observations or reading

Seniority and work performance go hand in hand. Often, more tailored people in an sector can come with better ideas than inexperienced ones. Nevertheless, seniority shouldn't be the sole basis for raising someones pay, rather it is an good idea to compensate people with their performance on the required task to determine the level of reward they receive.

In todays competitive work environment, it is crucial to keep a oneself updated with changing times and technology. One should always try to be ahead of their game and that requires proper dedication and motivation. Therefore, it is good idea to give employees incentive for aiming towards efficiency in job. If a system is organized such that productive people and those who add more value to company are rewarded more than other personnels then it creates a competitive environment and everyone tries to give their best. For example, if a sales man who can sale 4 car per day is provided with more compensation than an experienced person who manages to sale only one or 2 cars per day. Then it boosts the motivation of former and also gives the reasons to improve their performance to the latter.

Moreover, such implementation will also discourage people for joining a company where they are weak and help to focus their energy in sectors where they can excel. As a consequence the economic status of a jobholders as well as company as a whole is uplifted which in turn increases the productivity of society as a whole. For example, someone who is less efficient in teaching occupation might do very well in other sectors like accounting, programming, etc. People who are not doing in certain profession will reach out for other options where they can grow their career faster. So such method will surely motivate people to pursue their career where they can be more fruitful to themselves as well as to their employers.

Lastly, if such a system is implemented in national level, it will help to expedite the economic development of a country in large. Since most of the the workforces will be allocated in places where they are more inclined towards, it will surely have huge influence in growth rate.

In summary, promoting people on basis of their performance is a good idea rather than based on number of years they have served on it. Moreover, experienced people will be more adept on particular job overtime so such provision will likely have no adverse impact on people who are dedicated to their responsibilities and it will discourage people from reaping benefits solely on basis of their experience rather than expertise.