The autonomy of any country is based on the strength of its borders; if the number of illegal immigrants entering a country cannot be checked, both its economy and national identity are endangered. Because illegal immigrants pose such threats, every effort must be made to return them to their country of origin.

The argument that illegal immigrants must be deported to their country of origin is not entirely logically convincing, since it makes some fallacious assumptions along the way. No example has been stated to solidify the claims made in the argument, so one can only analyse the nature of the causal relationship drawn by the author.

First, the argument assumes that deporting illegal immigrants will keep the economy and national identity of the nation intact. There is no further evidence given to prove that this will get rid of the threats to the nation. It starts by claiming that a failure to count the illegal immigrants leads to 'endangering' of the country, but does not establish that there are no other factors that would harm a country's economy, and that this is truly what is causing economy-related problems.

Second, on further analysis, we observe that the argument links the ability to count illegal immigrants to a threat to the national identity. It is that very ability that could be critiqued; the author assumes that an increase in the number of illegal immigrants will harm the nation. What about a country that has centers where illegal immigrants can seek asylum or refuge, thus being able to count the number of such immigrants? The author blindly seems to assume that this is not possible, and that there is no way to solve the problem of registering these people.

Finally, even if we assume that a country is not able to set up centers for these people to seek asylum, the author seems to blame the immigrants for the threats to the nation. The economy and national identity, as they imply, are built upon the strength of a country's borders. But by deporting illegal immigrants, the borders are no stronger. They remain as they were, and immigrants can still illegally cross them. The author here seems to assume that the immigrants, once deported, will not return.

Thus, the argument is not sound, with insufficient evidence to warrant the conclusion drawn by the author. If the assumptions that we made (above) for the author prove unwarranted, then the conclusion is provably incorrectly drawn, as discussed. The argument could have been strengthened if the author proved that an increase in the number of illegal immigrants harms the nation, and that the borders of this nation are already well-sealed, with no ways for such people to re-enter. The current form of the argument made, with these pitfalls, fails to address these points.