The following argument was made in a newspaper editorial:

“The autonomy of any country is based on the strength of its borders; if the number of illegal immigrants entering a country cannot be checked, both its economy and national identity are endangered. Because illegal immigrants pose such threats, every effort must be made to return them to their country of origin.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted

The argument is talking about the importance of strength of its border for the autonomy of any country. But there are some other unstated assumptions are scene. It is necessary to explain more about the assumptions to strengthen the argument.

In the first part of the argument, it is pointed out that if the number of illegal immigrants entering a country cannot be checked, both its economy and national identity are endangered. But how can we corroborate that these are the only reason to challenge its autonomy? There are several reasons. It is sure that a country should strengthen its borders. But at the same time it should be necessary to ensure the citizens are not doing any illegal activities that endanger the country's economy and national identity. There may be any chance that any officials obtained for prices for other country. So it should be necessary to make it clear that how the illegal immigrants are endanger to the country. There may be a chance that they sell more foreign products in this country and persuade the people in this country to reject the native products. Also there is a chance to make people believe that the quality of education, job and living atmosphere of foreign countries are excellent than the native country. So they might lure to other countries.All these are examples of how the illegal immigrants are danger to the country. It is necessary to state these points following the assumption. It will strengthen argument.

The claim in the last sentence is that the illegal immigrants pose threats and therefore efforts must be made to return them to their country of origin. The assumption is undoubtedly correct. I agree with it. Lots of the developed countries are strengthening their borders to ensure the autonomy of the country. But it also necessary to explain how it is to made possible. How to identify the illegal immigrants. Also, it is necessary to explain what are efforts to be taken to rectify this. There may be an strong armed force would be checking the countries border. There should be officials to notice what are the activities of these immigrants. Whether they impose any threat to the country or not. Also, there should be officers to check all the personal documents of every people. It is necessary to make these things strict. All these explanations will fortify the assumption made in the argument.

In conclusion, the assumption in the argument is definitely correct. But it is necessary to explain more about it. This will strengthen the assumptions depicted in the argument.