The following argument was made in a newspaper editorial: "The autonomy of any country is based on the strength of its borders; if the number of illegal immigrants entering a country cannot be checked, both its economy and national identity are endangered. Because illegal immigrants pose such threats, every effort must be made to return them to their country of origin"

The argument is flawed for numerous reasons. Primarily, the argument is based on the unwarranted assumptions that the autonomy of any country is based on the strength of its borders, rendering its main conclusion that due approach should be enforced to return immigrants back to their country as they pose threats, invalid.

The argument fails to provide any justification that the autonomy of a country is a function of how secure its border is. Even if the argument provide information to show that progress of a country forthrightly relates to its borders between other contiguous countries, it is still not veritable as a pragmatic approach can still be executed to check for the reliability of this claim.

The argument also leaves many unanswered questions. Even if the econonmy and national identity of a country are in serious problem due to inability to check for the number of illegal immigrants, it is insufficient to accept that assertion. The argument could do something as simple yet as effective as consulting a town Librarian to review published studies to show whether a parallel exists between growing number of illegal immigrants and the economy situation and national identity of a such country. It could also hire an independent research firm to determine whether a correlation exists between bad economy and rash illegal immigrants.

Finally, the argument claims without warrant that illegal immigrants pose threats. Here again, research is a vital ally: What is the percentage contribution of illegal immigrants threast to the country economy and national identity problem compare to other factor that may cause them? How can economy problem could be reduced without reducing the number of illegal immigrants? Aswering such questions might help to clarify a solution to the country economy and national identity problem.

Because the argument makes several unwarranted assumptions, it fails to make a convincing case that the auntonomy of any country is based on the strength of its borders hence illegal immigrants shou.