The following argument was made in a newspaper editorial:

"The autonomy of any country is based on the strength of its borders; if the number of illegal immigrants entering a country cannot be checked, both its economy and national identity are endangered. Because illegal immigrants pose such threats, every effort must be made to return them to their country of origin."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The given claim recommends that the illegal immigrants pose threat to the country and so every effort must be made to send such immigrants oust the country. However, this claim is based on various assumption made without any detailed information. Such vague arguments cannot be relied upon and further information and evidences are required to conclude on the matter. Furhter in the following paragraphs, I will be explaining the assumptions made by the arguments of the author and the implications applicable if such assumptions prove to be unwarranted.

Firstly, the auther claims that the autonomy of the country is based on its borders strength. The author makes an assumption that the autonomy of a country is solely based on the strenght of the borders. This assumption shall not always hold true, as the autonomy of the country can be based on various other factors like the economic and social performance of a country as compared on the global scale. For example, India, being surrounded by rival country places a significant focus on the border safety, however it is not the only focus. The autonomy of India, is based on the constitution of India, the rules drafted and the regulations laid on its citizens. The self reliace of the country and other such factors. Without the evidence of such factors we cannot conclued on the assumption made by the author. If on proving that the assumption of autonomy are dependent solely on border strength proves to be wrong, it shall have an effect to demilosh the entire working of the country.

Second, the author says that, if the number of illegal immigrants entering a country cannot be checked, its economic and national identity are endangered. This is an assumption made without evidence. It is a high possibility that illigal immigrants may pose threat to the countries identity, but it cannot be concluded without obtaining an evidence on the type of immigrants. For instance, a illigal immigrant may have a positive intent, or a group of immigrants may enter the country only as they wanted to escape their own nation, as we see today the situation of Iran, in this circumstances, it would be damage the mental capacity of such immigrants and infact harm them. It is also a possibility to consider that such immigrant if treated well would prove to be of great resource to the nation. So such assumption shall not be made without the evidence of the background of the immigrants entering the country illicitly.

Also, the authour finally recommends that such illigal immigrants entering the country shall be sent back to their country of origin. If we continue the above example, considering a citizen of Iran, a woman, who has sucessfull escaped from her home country and entered the neighbouring country to protect herself, sending her back to her home country would only mean sending her back in pain. All her efforts shall all go in vein. She should rather be treated as refugee and safeguarded by the neighbouring country. Thus such recommendation lacks evidence and needs to be evaluated before implimenting.

In conclusion, I believe that not all illigal immigrants seek to endanger the country's identity and that the autonomy of the country shall not just depend on the strenght of the borders. Evaluatin of the inner workings of the country than worrying about the border safety shall be alleviated. However, considerable eye must be kept for any threats to the country by holding the border security tight and at the same time the working on the economic growth and well being must be taken care of.