Blue Highway

The opponents of motorists' lobby's plan to widen the Blue Highway recommmend that they add a bicycle lane instead in order to ameliorate the highway's traffic issue. They suggests this based worsening of traffic jams on Green Highway upon adding a lane as well as the residents penchant for bicycling. However, before the argument can be properly evaluated, one would require answers to the following questions.

Firstly, are Blue Highway and Green Highway similar? The proponets of bicycle lane prematurely assumes that the circumstances from Green Highway can be used to generalise and make predictions for the Blue Highway as well. However, such a considerations can prove to be malignant. There is a possibility that the Blue Highway and Green Highway are remakably different in that while the Blue Highways meanders through the sparsely populated pastoral landscape, the Green Highway runs through the densely populated urban city. Furthermore, it is possible that the Blue Highway is in its pristine condition whereas the Green Highway requires an overhaul at periodic intervals. If either of the scenarios has merit, then the bicycle lane proponents' argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, do most of the residents using Blue Highway leave within the distance that can be travelled by bicycle? The residents may prefer bicycle over motorcycle to commute to work everyday. However, it is possible that their commute is so long that they have to prefer motorcycle over bicycle even if they do not want to. As mentioned above, if the average distance to be travelled is 10 kilometers if not more, then the bicycle lane proponents' recommendation will not serve the purpose of alleviating traffic issues on Blue Highway.

Finally, how safe is it to add a bicycle lane on a highway? The proponents of bicycle lane fallaciously assume that using bicycles does not lead to any accidents. However, this assumption is spurious as it is highly plausible that people commuting to work on bicycle will be in a haste and cause accidents on the highway. These accidents will only exacerbate the traffic jam issues. If this turns out to be the case after adding bicycle lane, the bicycle lane proponents' prediction does not hold water.

Therefore, the arguemnt, as it stands, is unpursuasive as the proponents of bicycle lane does not provide any information that would help one evaluate the answers the above posed questions. One will be in a better position to evaluate the argument if the bicycle lane proponents provide information addressing the above questions in a detailed manner leaving no room for ambiguity.