Claim: In order to help small businesses thrive, government should play a minimal role in private business matters.

Excessive control by government over private sector industries has always been not very fruitful. By controlling private businesses governments do tend to undermine their autonomy and take decisions which might slow down quotidian business activities. The given prompt states that for the successful growth of small businesses, government influence over them should be minimal. I do agree with the prompt in lessening government role in small to medium size businesses. There are two major reasons which might harm small businesses in the long run with excessive government control.

Small businesses have low profit margins and if there is government interference in every possible decision that these businesses make then it would not only make to do business difficult but also produce latency in revenue making. After India gained independence the government of India adopted a socialist policy in which the government would control private industries and would tell them what to make and how much to make, autonomy of industries was thus null .Due to this policy there was no competition among the private sector and also companies were not allowed to decide their own prices for their product, thus hindering company profits. In a similar manner even small businesses had to bear the brunt of excessive government control since for even acquiring and installing a small stall required different government licenses and approvals which required excess of time and thus small businesses took a long time to make any revenues.

SME ( small to medium size businesses) are extremely volatile to market conditions, if they do not perform well they simply get vanished unlike major corporations who get a bailout package from the government ,this is because small businesses are not high volume ,high margin businesses. So autonomy is very crucial for small businesses since the entire failure of the business is borne by the owners themselves. When the market crash of 2008 happened all the major finance corporations got bailout packages from the government, but this was not true for small businesses that had to suffer major losses due to market crash Even if government tried to intervene and support small business by giving them funds it was not practically viable to financially support every small business running in the country.

In conclusion government control only proves futile for small businesses since excessive interference hampers the small companies from taking quick and decisive decisions thus greatly affecting the company’s business from being in the forefront of competition.