People should question the rules of authority as opposed to accepting them passively.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the reasons for which the statement may or may not be true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The rules of the authority should be practible and feasible for people to follow them. Unjust rules will create a discontent among the people for the rules made by authority. The prompt suggests that people should passively question the rules rather than just following them. Although most of the rules made by the authority would make sense if the authority has been democratically elected but even then all the rules made by an democratically elected authority are not always just. So I do agree with the prompt that questionning the rules of authority is a duty of an active society.

Authorities should not be given a free hand in making rules and policies for the people. For instance if there is burdegeoning population in a country and the government decides to stop it by forcing people to have only child. People’s own self will is not been taken care of by such rules. People’s freedom will be hampered .This same rule was brought in China by its government during the 1970’s. Since there was a communist authoritarian government no one questioned the government .As a result of this today there is a declining birth in China and this has affected their economy because of less people of working age and more people who are in their retiring age.

During the colonial period in India there was a salt tax that was imposed on Indians by the British. There were hardly any people who questioned the authority for this. But Mahatma Gandhi was reluctant to pay this salt tax and questioned the authority for a tax on a common substance such as salt which is easily available. So Gandhi along with his other fellow protesters protested against this tax and marched for almost thousand kilometres . Due to this the British government was forced to reduce the salt tax and eventually make it null. If Gandhi has not protested against this tax rule then the common people of India would have suffered a lot. So questioning the authority was crucial in meeting peoples’ demands.

On the other hand some might argue that in today’s modern world of democratically elected governments people should just passively accept the government rules since the government is elected by people. This is not always true that democratically elected government always makes rules which are flawless .There are many governments in the world that are democratically elected but fall very high in the global corruption index. Authorities might not always think in the best interest of the people so active questioning of the rules of the authority should be done by people.