The city of Winston has two large department stores: Namen and Roscoe. Namen is known for its high-end designer fashions, while Roscoe is known for more affordable fashion options. Both Namen and Roscoe are each considering opening another store in the growing suburb of Salem, where the population has grown over 50% in the last three years and where the median income is $75,000. Namen’s executives argue that as population and median income increase, people are willing to spend more money on clothing. However, Roscoe’s executives believe that the suburbs are more family oriented, and therefore their store will be more profitable than their competitor Namen.

The argument from the departmental store Namen and Roscoe executives are based on couple of assumption and fallacies. In below, three major fallacies are discussed.

Firstly, both Namen and Roscoe haven't done any survey to claim that people will buy clothes if their median income increase as well as they are family oriented. The executives only assumed these idea and claiming that their business will be sucessful with no data to back this up. If these executives have done a survey with a big sample in the suburb of salem, they could have gotten the real scenario and they could have made their business plan.

Secondly, the executives of Namen have provided the logic that people will buy expensive clothes if the population and median income increase. this logic is faulty because, we don't know the buying habit of suburb of salem. May be the people of salem will spend more on car or house. To know for sure, their buying habit need to be researched. After that, we can reach to a conclusion. Without a research, it is impractical to open a store with high end designer cloths and it may lead to a loss. SImilarly for Roscoe, they can't just beleive that the people of Salem are family oriented without any research as well as family oriented doesn't mean that they will be more interested in buying low priced clothes. So, a research is must before concluding about the profitibility.

Thirdly, the income may be dependant on one factory which has recently opened in salem. That's why 50% growth of population have been seen in there. If the factory move it's plant, the people will also move. Therefore, the median income of that area will also be lessen very rapidly. Moreover, this area could be area of factory where people doesn't live with their family. May be their family live in other place where the factory worker's send most of their income. So, Namen and Roscoe need to know about the income source of the people of that are before opening stores.

Namen and Roscoe can solve the logical falacies and conduct a proper survey, after that they will get the answers about the area of Salem. Before that, if they open their store, they may face huge looses in Salem.