Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs.

The argument by the business manager of the television has many flaws. It claims that their reduced viewership and loss in revenue is due to the reduced time given to weather and local news. They also claim that the complaints from their viewers are also due to this reason.

The argument does not provide necessary evidences to support these claims. The complaints received from their views could also be due to the quality of their weather and local news. Maybe the station does not present the weather accurately or could be biased in their reporting of the local news. A proper survey/analysis of the received complaints would help the station find the root cause of the complaints. If evidence show that people are unhappy over the extent of local news covered or now much time the station spends expanding on each news article, this would strengthen the argument.

The arguement says that they can attract more viewers by restoring the time devoted to weather and local news but this claim has no basis. A survey can be conducted to see what the people are interested in watching. The station could then make more programs in these areas to attract views. If viewers want more weather related or local news, then this strengthens the argument and so increasing the time spent on these will attract new viewers. If the people prefer national news, then this would weaken the argument and the station will not attract new viewers by telecasting local news.

It also claims that restoring the time devoted to weather and local news would prevent local businesses from canceling their advertising contracts. But the canceled contracts could be due to other reasons. Finding the reason for every canceled contract would be beneficial evidence. Perhaps the station misreported news about the local businesses which led them to canceling their contracts with the station. This evidence would weaken the argument, that is, restoring time spent on weather and local news would help them avoid losing more advirtising revenue. The station should then try to get back their contracts through other means.

Thus, the business manager of the television station fails to make a convincing claim that restoring time would attract more viewers and avoid losing more advertising revenue.