Understanding the past is of little use to those in current positions of leadership.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The statements raises the question of whether the past is of relevance to those in current leadership positions. Although, we can agree that the economic and political views change over time, it is important for current leaders to analyze the past to make informed decisions. Thus, I disagree with the statement that "Understanding the past is of little use to current leaders" and would like to argue that analyzing the past can give current leaders meaningful insights.

Firstly, understanding past economic trends can help current leaders implement laws and schemes that have proven to benifit the people. This can be supported by talking about the new GST scheme introduced by the current leader of India, Mr. Modi, which has been immensely successful. This success can be attributed to the New Tax program introduced by the economic minister 10 years back. Mr. Modi understood that taxing the producer of goods did not work and so decided to tax the consumer instead through his GST scheme. Hence, understanding the mistakes of past leaders helped him make better laws.

Furthermore, a study by XYZ university, India, showed us that leaders with a background in history(study of the past) proved to perform better than others.

At the same time, we need to acknowledge that the views of the general public and economic standards change over time. This tells us that not all past experiences would be relevant or of use to the present and could sometimes even mislead the leaders to make wrong decisions.

Thus, a good understanding of the past proves to be benificial to those in current leadership positions and will help them perform their duties better.