The council of Maple County, concerned about the county's becoming overdeveloped, is debating a proposed measure that would prevent the development of existing farmland in the county. But the council is also concerned that such a restriction, by limiting the supply of new housing, could lead to significant increases in the price of housing in the county. Proponents of the measure note that Chestnut County established a similar measure ten years ago, and its housing prices have increased only modestly since. However, opponents of the measure note that Pine County adopted restrictions on the development of new residential housing fifteen years ago, and its housing prices have since more than doubled. The council currently predicts that the proposed measure, if passed, will result in a significant increase in housing prices in Maple County.

The council of Maple County predicts that the proposed measure will result in a significant increase in housing while being concerned about the overdevelopment of Maple County. The prediction would have been solid had it been able to provide necessary information along with supporting evidence. The conclusion stands on shaky grounds of weak assumptions without enough support. The facts are manipulated and the truth is distorted for the prediction to be true. The argument is incomplete and it still needs to answer relevant questions for the validity of the conclusion.

Here the argument assumes that limiting housing supply will lead to only slight increases in the price of housing in the county. Firstly, the data of Chestnut county from 10 years ago is compared with Maple County based on the similarity in proposed measures with results only subtle increment. The comparison is done with two different counties with different geographical aspects. The first question that needs to be asked is "Is Chestnut County from 10 years ago similar in development and the geographical sector as that of Maple County?" The answer will help find out that if Chestnut County was bigger and less developed it only encountered a slight increase in prices but Maple County can result in a significant increase in housing prices.

In addition, 15 years of data from Pine County were included, which imposed restrictions on housing construction. As a result, this results in a significant increase in housing prices. Now, the next question that needs to be asked is that "Did Pine County also use limitation of housing supplies for the restriction on development of residential housing?". Pine County could have used another measure for the restriction on development and this eventually leads to an increase in house pricing. Through this, we can know if there is an actual relation between the limitation of housing supplies and a significant increase in housing prices.

Finally, the argument also assumes that limiting houses supply prevents the development of farmland in the County. Another question that needs to be answered is" Does prevention of farmland in county result in higher property value of farmland?", This will assist us in finding what the relation between the development of farmland and property value is which can help in making the prediction more reasonable.

In conclusion, the argument is not compelling enough. To make the prediction more cogent proof and evidence are required. The data that is presented should be of a similar period, group, and method holding statistical relevancy. As a result addition of answers that ultimately result in bolstering the argument should be done for the prediction to be true.