The council of Maple County, concerned about the county's becoming overdeveloped, is debating a proposed measure that would prevent the development of existing farmland in the county. But the council is also concerned that such a restriction, by limiting the supply of new housing, could lead to significant increases in the price of housing in the county. Proponents of the measure note that Chestnut County established a similar measure ten years ago, and its housing prices have increased only modestly since. However, opponents of the measure note that Pine County adopted restrictions on the development of new residential housing fifteen years ago, and its housing prices have since more than doubled. The council currently predicts that the proposed measure, if passed, will result in a significant increase in housing prices in Maple County.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The council of Maple County is in a dilemma with regard to the developmental steps which would be taken given the overdevelopment of the county. On one side the council believes that by actually restricting this supply of new housing there would be a significant surge in the housing prices while on the other hand, the lobbyists believe only a modest increase after seeing the effect of the same in Chestnut County. The council is fickle-minded concerning this decision and predict what may or may not happen given the passing and rejection of this measure respectively. The above logic is unconvincing given the following flaws present.

Firstly, just because two different outcomes of this measure was observed in other counties doesn’t really have to mean that the same effect is bound to happen in Maple County too. Given that the outcome was positive/negative doesn’t actually mean that the sole reason behind this is only that proposed policy. Drop in the housing prices can happen due to a lot many factors namely lack of basic facilities causing people to move out, inappropriate ambience for residents to live and many more. Moreover given that this effect was observed after ten years doesn’t give us much needed proof that the same outcome will be seen in Maple County too which may or may not have what it takes for a person to live.

Secondly, the council is concerned that by such a restriction, by limiting the supply of new housing there would be significant changes in the housing prices. At the same time, they are completely overlooking the fact that such an effect actually happen requires a lot many changes in that area. There is no proof given that Maple County is full of people who actually want to experience such developmental benefits. It is so very possible that the county is full of old people who don’t even care about these changes and are happy the way they are at present.

Thirdly, shall the measured policy come into effect, the council still predicting that there would be an increase in the housing prices is completely flawed. There are no proofs given that support the fact that only an increase in the prices will happen and no decrease at all even though the proponents believed there would be a decrease and opponents otherwise. There is not much data that should actually support that only one effect would be seen in Maple County.

In conclusion, the council is in a fix. Even after knowing the effect of this policy in its neighbouring counties was both positive and negative, they should not fixate themselves for directly jumping on to its execution. Given the overdevelopment in the area, the best thing is to even take other considerations, other flaws into account and tackle this issue so as to get a reasonable outcome for all.