Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Some wise man once correctly said, “Knowledge learnt is never a waste “. Learning is like a perennial river, it never stops until the end of time. All humans keep on learning something or the other each and every day though one may never be aware of that. You may never know when that learning will actually help you in your life but trust me, it never goes waste. Going with this flow, I completely agree with what the University proposes to all its students.

Firstly, just sticking to what one’s curriculum says simply reminds me of my school days when during the math class if we were taught the multiplication tables of 2 and 3, we simply memorised that without even asking the teacher why not teach the tables of 13 or 17. Surely studying what your syllabus demands are one thing and one must always abide by that. But at the same time, we must also be aware of the things that are not present in the book. Simply mugging up things and blindly writing down those will fetch you marks but this is not learning if I insist. And in real life too, nobody is going to stop you and ask you the definition of mitochondria or Euler’s theorem.

Secondly, Universities always want the benefit for the students too and prepare them for their life. That is why they require the students to not just restrict oneself to learning what the teacher teaches but also explore more and more. In my experience too, I like to learn a lot of new things and I don’t believe in studying only what my syllabus says. Be it in interviews or other meetings, having knowledge more than that of the book surely actually makes you stand out and create an impression for others. A Mechanical student can study programming or if a civil student can pursue financial learning. It’s just the willingness to learn and the ability to be able to apply them in life is that matters.

I fully support what the University requires in an affirmative tone as learning something new is never a bad habit or be seen as a burden. Each and every other thing you learn may come in handy in your life but you may never know when. Therefore, I strongly agree with the university and surely the students should learn and pursue beyond what the college teaches them.