The council of Maple County, concerned about the county's becoming overdeveloped, is debating a proposed measure that would prevent the development of existing farmland in the county. But the council is also concerned that such a restriction, by limiting the supply of new housing, could lead to significant increases in the price of housing in the county. Proponents of the measure note that Chestnut County established a similar measure ten years ago, and its housing prices have increased only modestly since. However, opponents of the measure note that Pine County adopted restrictions on the development of new residential housing fifteen years ago, and its housing prices have since more than doubled. The council currently predicts that the proposed measure, if passed, will result in a significant increase in housing prices in Maple County.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The council’s prediction on passing its proposed measure is based on certain unwarranted assumptions and is flawed for numerous reasons. The argument fails to develop a cogent case in establishing a strong logical conclusion between the proposed methods and its likely outcome.

Expressing concerns about the Maple country becoming over-developed, the council debates on a proposed measure. It is, however, unclear in the first place what the council signifies as being over-developed. Is it the present economic boom or the increase in gross domestic product? Or does it signify the over increase of industrial growth, trade practices and other aspects? The argument fails to provide any strong evidence of the growth of the nation which assesses it as being over-developed. Hence, statistical surveys or opinions from leading economists of the country would have strengthened the argument.

The argument also clearly fails to provide any logical link in restricting over-development by curbing development of existing farmland and checking the supply of new housing. It may be true that new housing will mean an increase in population in Maple country, but how will this possibly signify over-development? The council’s measure to check over-development may be wisely implemented if it concentrates on the reduction of industrial growth by limiting production, increasing tax rates and diminishing trade relations with other countries for a stipulated time.

Moreover, the council extrapolated the possible outcomes of its proposed nature basing on the results of similar measures in Pine and Chestnut countries, assuming the economy to remain significantly unchanged over the period of last fifteen years. It is highly probable that economic conditions, the house rates, land costs and development charges, which prevailed in different countries in the last ten-fifteen years, were quite different from that existing now in Maple. Nevertheless, the geography, the climate and the culture could have had a direct significance in doubling effect on the house costs in Pine on contrary to the modest increase in that of Chestnut. Instead of entirely basing the prediction on the past outcomes, the council should focus on future models of estimation of costs by analysts and economists and if study if similar measures were taken by other countries in recent times, which can provide a significantly clearer picture whether the housing costs will plunge or boom. Curbing housing developments will indirectly take a toll on its population, which might lead people to look for better places to reside, thus harming the Maple society in general, instead of significantly curbing over-development.

Examining all the factors above, the city council’s measured proposal in curbing over-development, if passed, may generate different outcomes than what was predicted. A deeper analysis and a scientific scrutiny is necessary before passing such a measurement.