The council of Maple County, concerned about the county's becoming overdeveloped, is debating a proposed measure that would prevent the development of existing farmland in the county. But the council is also concerned that such a restriction, by limiting the supply of new housing, could lead to significant increases in the price of housing in the county. Proponents of the measure note that Chestnut County established a similar measure ten years ago, and its housing prices have increased only modestly since. However, opponents of the measure note that Pine County adopted restrictions on the development of new residential housing fifteen years ago, and its housing prices have since more than doubled. The council currently predicts that the proposed measure, if passed, will result in a significant increase in housing prices in Maple County.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The maple county council believes that if a measure is passed to limit the development of farmland it will send housing prices soaring.

The argument here asserts thatby limiting the supply of land for housing through law the demand will remain constant and prices will go up, howevr there is a fundamental flaw in this reasoning because demand for housing as shown throught history follows areas of development so If development is stifled then people will migrate less to such an environmenr and invariably demand fo housing in that area will drop hereby causing prices to remain constant or even dro in some extreme cases.

Furthermore from the data gathered from boh the proponents and opposition it can be seen that this policy enacted 15 years ago in a rural farm county led to a very significant change in price and 5 years after in another similar county it only led to modest price increases, this can be explained by the fact that the economic activity and demand for housing is moving away gradually from rural areas to the more urban areas. If this trend is to be considerd the rise in price will be even more modest in maple county if present at all.

The argument makes a final assertion which tries to draw inferences from counties which are not the same as the three counties in the argument do not have the same exact geographical characteristcs and the people present do not have the same culture and value systems. So the demand for housing in both areas which is affectd by geographical location, weather conditions, proximity to big cities or holiday areas and a plethora of other characteristics will not be affected in the same way.

In conclusion it is evident that the county council cannot draw inferences from the data it has and the argument does not have strong backing because the ideas are anachronistic, and the characteristics of the three counties are not the same. To strengthen the argument the council should provide more recent data and provide data from a nearby county with similar geographical, human and economic characteristucs.