People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Psychologists believe that the character which a person develops is determined by two main factors, the first is genetics and the second and a greater proportion of our character traits are brought about by our environment. The prompt above opines that the character profile of human beings is determined by forces beyond the control of that individual, I believe this to be true for three cogent reasons.

Human beings are products of the society we develop in as we are social creatures we constantly learn and unlearn behaviors through interaction with one another and this in not under the control of that individual. This is the reason why culture has a massive impact on us a s humans, people from a particular region learn to do things and carry out tasks in a certain way and this is knows as culture. For instance in Nigeria there are three dominant tribes, Igbo, Yoruba and Hausa the Yorubas are highly respectful individuals as a result of the training they get as children and they carry this character well into old age and even well into their forties Yoruba children do not look their fathers in the eye. This submissive behavior is passed down from parent to child and is ossified by the environment into a character profile. The child in this case has no say in the development of this character trait of submission.

Genetics is a second major determinant of behavior of individuals as individuals show mannerisms and proclivities which can be traced to their parents even in situations where their parents are absent from the lives of these children. One widely studied area in the field of genetics amongst psychologists is the impact of parents Intelligence quotients on the intelligence quotients of their children. The effect has been downplayed over time however it is still widely accepted that the IQ of a child is dependent on the IQ of both parents. Having a high IQ predisposes you to certain inclinations, such as being an avid reader or having a love for intellectual games such as chess and scrabble. These inclinations which may turn out to be behaviors were brought about as a result of certain factors beyond the control of the child.

The place of choice is widely debated and it is claimed by some individuals that human beinhs can contrive to change certain characters as they grow older. This holds some merit but the extent to which we can change our proclivities and tastes are still dependent on the environment we find ourselves as without knowing a certain action is “wrong” as defined by society how can we ever decide it is worth changing? Society and culture which are external factors play major roles in shaping individuals and it is important that parents and governments provide suitable social environment for growing children to develop properly.