Three years ago, because of flooding at the Western Palean Wildlife Preserve, 100 lions and 100 western gazelles were moved to the East Palean Preserve, an area that is home to most of the same species that are found in the western preserve, though in larger numbers, and to the eastern gazelle, a close relative of the western gazelle. The only difference in climate is that the eastern preserve typically has slightly less rainfall. Unfortunately, after three years in the eastern preserve, the imported western gazelle population has been virtually eliminated. Since the slight reduction in rainfall cannot be the cause of the virtual elimination of western gazelle, their disappearance must have been caused by the larger number of predators in the eastern preserve.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument concludes that the virtual extinction of western gazelles which were brought into east preserve is a sa result of an increased rate of predation. This argument is based on the premise that a lerge number of predators and ‘prey’ live in the eastern preserve and no difference in climate exist between eastern and western preserves. This argument needs to provide more information as it makes a few questionable assumptions.

First it will be important for the author to provide information that proves that the death is not due to sickness which affects the western gazelles more than their eastern counterparts. The eastern gazelles having lived in the east for eons are more acclamatised to the geographic and biological environment, the biological environment includes bacteria and fungus. These organisms might be deadly when entering a new host which is less accustomed to its presence. This issue has occurred with Africans who more resistant to Malaria compared to our European counterparts who identify it as a ‘killer’ disease.

Furthermore an area which experiences flooding requires its inhabitants to have certain adaptations, the western gazelles might be used to large amounts of rainfall and their eastern countrerparts may be more adapted to withstand short periods of drought. The reduced rainfall also has an effect on the kinds of vegetation found in the region. Less comestible vegetation may be present in the eastern preserve compared to the western and this would have a negative impact on the populations of western gazelles. More information will nned to be provided on the availability of suitable food source for western gazelles.

Lastly to prove that predation is indeed responsible for the extirpation of the western gazelles the author would need to provide details which show that more predators are present in the east compared to the west. The west had a predator to prey ratio of one to one, this is a rather tight margin and if the western gazelles were able to thrive under such conditions, it means they are well suited to surviving under harsh predatory conditions. Usually in the wild mass herds of prey usually provide food for a handful of predators.

In conclusion, the argument will need to provide more information on the the above stated points and prove that the eastern gazelle is more suited to survive in areas of predation than the western gazelle.