The council of Maple County, concerned about the county's becoming overdeveloped, is debating a proposed measure that would prevent the development of existing farmland in the county. But the council is also concerned that such a restriction, by limiting the supply of new housing, could lead to significant increases in the price of housing in the county. Proponents of the measure note that Chestnut County established a similar measure ten years ago, and its housing prices have increased only modestly since. However, opponents of the measure note that Pine County adopted restrictions on the development of new residential housing fifteen years ago, and its housing prices have since more than doubled. The council currently predicts that the proposed measure, if passed, will result in a significant increase in housing prices in Maple County.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The stated argument concludes that the price of houses in the Maple County will significantly increase if curbs are imposed on supply of land for new housing in order to slower the pace of development of the county. This assertion however is based upon the results of a similar scheme in another county, which makes creates certain flaws in the central argument that cannot be overlooked.

The aim of the city council is to take certain measures with regard to their concern that the Maple County is being overdeveloped. It is stated that they decide to import restrictions on supply of new housing do slower the pace of land development. This assumption that slower pace of housing development will prevent overdevelopment might be true but it may also create a situation in which the real estate of the country gets adversely affected. Imposing such restrictions will put future projects on hold and schemes which are already under construction will suffer huge losses. This might cause dissatisfaction among the builders as well as those who have got their money invested in those schemes. Such a situation leads to another factor that causes the builders to hike prices in order to express their opposition to the implemented policies.

In order to support their claims, the proponents of these policies from the city council take the reference of Chestnut county. It is stated that chestnut county members had implemented similar policies ten years ago and the house prices in that county did not show a significant increase. It seems fairly unreasonable to compare the data of another county that too one which had faced such a situation ten years ago. Ten years mark a huge gap in the factors that influence the administrative policies of a county. Also, It might be the case that the costs that affect the house pricing are drastically different in both the places. The modest increase of Chestnut may be attributed to the already suffering real-estate market then.

Like in case of every administrative policy, this one too had opponents. The members of the council that opposed this policy cited the data of Pine county which faced a similar scenario. Fifteen years ago, Pine council members had seen significant growth in house prices on implementation of similar rules. Just as in the case of Chestnut, comparing the outcomes of some other county with the one in discussion is unjust. Fifteen years mark an even greater time gap for such comparisons. The situation of Maple County now and that of Pine County then may me completely different. The surge in house pricing there, does not create a universal law that becomes applicable at each and every situation that creates similar outcomes.

The fundamentals of Economics include the ‘Law of Demand’ which states that price of each and every economic commodity will increase if their supply is curbed. This might have been the basis for the council members to arrive at the conclusion. But the data presented and the seemingly unfair comparisons that are taken into consideration to not lend credibility to the argument and makes it indefensible.