TRUE SUCCESS CAN BE MEASURED PRIMARILY IN TERMS OF GOALS ONE SETS FOR ONESELF.

The presented issue relates the success that can be attributed to a person with the goals that he/she has achieved. This assertion is valid in many aspects. The success that one has achieved is primarily evident from the goals that were set especially when they are examined from a view point of a person who has not witnessed the efforts of the person in discussion.

Firstly, success can be defined as to the what extend the person gets satisfied on achievement of the goals. It might be the case that only achieving the goal partially might satiate the person. On the other hand, a person who is avaricious for success, might not be contented even if he has achieved nearly ninety-nine percent of the goals that he/she has set. Such persons constantly strive to achieve more and more whereas the complacent ones are the exact opposites of them. Both of these types of people deal with the fight for success in a drastically different manner but, at the end what matters to them for evaluating their success, are the goals that are concerned. The third person examining their success also looks upon the same aspects.

Secondly, when the person whose success is being measured is totally unfamiliar to the observer, his satisfaction in terms goals remains an untouched factor. In such a case only statistical evidence is considered as parameter to measure success. Here both the greedy ones and the ones who are easily satisfied are uniformly judged. Their commitments, efforts, persistence or the zeal with which they are striving towards their goals are totally left unexamined. For example, the students who prepare for the entrance examinations such as for the IITs, are solely judged upon the scores that they secure. If a person who studied for nearly eight to ten hours a day falls behind in scores to the person who has secured his/her grades just by fate or through some unfair means, then the authorities would definitely consider the latter one regardless of the reasons behind the success.

Definitely, there are certain other factors that lead a person to success. The influence of these factors in one’s success cannot be overlooked. They form the base for the mountain which takes one to the summit of success. Such factors can be the hardships that one faces, his/her strengths, the opportunities that one grabs and the commitments to the efforts. But in reality these are only known to the person himself or other people who have remained witnesses to the efforts that one has put upon. For the rest of the world, that person is just like everyone else; the results solely determine his/her success.

All in all the word SUCCESS has a varied notion in each and everyone’s mind. But it is not possible for a person to be fit for each and every of those prospects in order to be termed as successful. The goals that one achieves, no matter to what extent, are the only evident factors on the basis of which success can be attributed to a person. Rest all remains unexamined just as a group of bushes in a vast desert.