The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry or any other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

The author of this statement makes an assertion that young minds can be nurtured for becoming great leaders in fields of government, industry etc. by imaprting them the sense of cooperation rather than competition. Beyond doubt, better leadership qualities are the most sought after in todays era. But I find the authors assertion to be inapplicable to a large extent as far as the scenario of the modern world is concerned.

Young minds are huge repositories of ideas. When these minds are provided a proper path to nurture themselves, they grow into something thats pathbreaking and to a great extent impact this world. This nurturing of minds start right from the person's birth till he becomes a contributor to the society which he is a part of. Better leaders are the inevitable parts of each and every field. This fact makes nurturing of good leaders even more crucial. Leaders are the ones that strive themselves to the pinnacle of success as well as their make their followers do so. Every leader is well aware that there are other leaders too that are on the path of achieving similar goals. And the zeal for that makes competition an inevitable part of the leadership stratergies

Competition makes the leader even more wary about the stratergies that he is currently implementing as well as those which he will implement in the future. The best example for one of such aspects are the competitive exams. The entrance exams for the esteem Indian Institute of Technology are considered among the most challenging examinations at global level. Every year, nearly two to three lacs of students appear for it and only a few thousands of them are admitted. Throughout the course of preparation, the students are a part under a highly competitive environment. In fact, there is an entire city that is dedicated to the coaching centers of such examinations that is named as Kota situated in the state of Rajashtan in India. The students at such centers appear for their mock tests with tens of thousands of student, all of them striving to achieve the best ranks. This may seem to be higly pain-staking but such competitive environments encourage them to give the best out of them eventually becoming better leaders. These people turn out to be the founders ov several million dollar companies like Flipkart, OLA cabs etc.

Competitions are even present in the coporate jobs. The employees are divided into several teams and each of the is offered some incentives on the basis of the targets that they achieve. Such competitions are profitable to the employees as well as their organizations which are surely benifitted from their employees achieving the specified targets. These policies increase the zeal of the employees as well as make them well aware of the current market situtations.

Thus , as competition is a part and parcel of each and every sector of the modern world, instilling a sense of competition among the young minds will contribute significantly in their becoming better leaders.