CLAIM: WE USUALLY LEARN MUCH MORE FROM PEOPLE WHOSE VIEWS WE SHARE THAN THOSE WHOSE VIEWS CONTRADICT OUR OWN.

REASON: DISAGREEMENT CAN CAUSE STRESS AND INHIBIT LEARNING.

The human world comprises of several billions of personalities living together and each one of them consisting something that the other wants to assimilate. At the same time, the sense of compatibility is something that a person wants to feel with others. So the extent of this compatibility especially in terms of views might influence the learning process. This assertion is true to a large extent.

Two persons completely unknown to each other begin to know each other better when they start sharing their views on various aspects of the world. As per the most general attributes of human nature, we get easily fond of people whose views are similar to ours. Immediately, a kind of attachment is felt with those persons and we find them to be superior to those who conflict our views. Consequently if we find that such people have a certain feature or knowledge about something that is worth learning, we find it easy to do so.

According to Hindu mythology, the most prominent pair of a teacher and a student was that of Chanakya and Chandragupta Maurya. The student Chandragupta was a true disciple of his teacher and learnt about each and every aspect of life. He was taught about various strategies for war, leadership and wisdom. From such stories it is apparent that both of them shared similar views towards their life. Even today they both are considered to be the most appropriate examples of critical thinkers. The philosophies and startegies of Chanakya are widely followed. In some of the movies depicting these historical classics, it is clearly portrayed how Chandragupta was influenced by his teachers aberrant thinking and his views that are completely different from others. This influence made it easy for him to cope up even with the extremely exacting nature of hi teacher.

Though the stated assertion about sharing of views in the learning process is true to a large extent, there are certain scenarios in which these factors do not influence the teaching learning process. For example, if Sachin Tendulkar has seriously conflicting views with his coach, had it been possible that he did not turn out to be such an exceptional player ? Well, probably not. Regardless of the views that they shared, it is the quality of knowledge about the game that the coach possessed and his teaching methodology were the things that helped Sachin in his career. Therefore in spite of sharing completely dissimilar views with someone, we find their knowledge to be so exceptional that we hardly regard the disagreement caused on certain topics.

In conclusion, the above stated assertion is not completely true and not applicable to each and every aspects of human life. Of course as per the basic nature of human beings, compatibility of views plays a major role in learning from someone, sometimes it might be the case that the knowledge that has to be gained is so worthy, that such factors are neglected. Thus this statement is true in both is aspects and uniquely applicable to varying situations.