The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town — Adams Realty and Fitch Realty — Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

In this argument the author is arriving upon the conclusion that adam’s realty is a better real estate firm to consult for selling one’s home. but the premises for arriving at such a generalized conclusion don not provide a credible support. A significant amount of vague assertions are made which might make the argument indefensible.

Initially, the author states that adam’s realty is a superior firm when compared to fitch realty, another leading real estate firm in the same town. The author begins his comparison in terms of real estate agents both the firms have. it is stated that the former has 40 real estate agents and the latter has got only 25. thus the author clearly assumes that more the number of real estate agents, higher will be the firms superiority. it might be the case that fitch realty in spite of having lesser number of agents, has got more competent one’s as compared to adam’s, agents which are better in terms of customer attraction and fetching profitable deals. Moreover, it is also stated that many of fitch’s estate agents work par-time. clearly, working part or full time does not justify their quality of works.

The author proceeds his argument by presenting statistics and figures about revenues and average home sales of both the firms. but these data only belong to the previous year. comparing only a single’s years of data for sales and revenue cannot be made as a base for arriving at the conclusion about the firms market value. according to the presented data, it is clear that in the previous year, adam’s realty was a better performer. but, what if for five years prior to the previous year, fitch had significantly higher numbers in context of the exactly same data. apart from that, a comparison of the average house sales of both the firms can be done if they have sold nearly same number of houses. Similarly, the pricing of houses is not uniform for both the firms. there is a possibility that adam’s houses are priced significantly higher as compared to fitch’s which makes their average higher.

The author also states his personal experience regarding selling an house with both the firms. according to him, ten years ago it took him four months to sell an house with fitch realty and last year it took him only one month to sell his house, when he chose Adams realty. it definitely seems vague to compare both the firm’s data that to when the point’s of comparison vary in time by a significant amount of ten years. The property markets are so volatile that ten years count for an entire generation of it. Even if we disregard this factor, apart from the time that it takes for the house to sell, the value of the sale matters a lot which is not accounted for in this study. thus these facts do not form a strong basis for the author’s conclusion.

Therefor, due to lack of concrete statistical evidence and unsubstantiated assumptions, this argument not immune to weakening. there are a lot of loopholes that are easily visible to target upon and the data presented, however authentic it may be, does not lend support to the argument for being imperviously true. The author should present more relatable facts and evidences to make his point in a lucid and flawless manner.