The data from a survey of high school math and science teachers show that in the district of Sanlee many of these teachers reported assigning daily homework, whereas in the district of Marlee, most science and math teachers reported assigning homework no more than two or three days per week. Despite receiving less frequent homework assignments, Marlee students earn better grades overall and are less likely to be required to repeat a year of school than are students in Sanlee. These results call into question the usefulness of frequent homework assignments. Most likely the Marlee students have more time to concentrate on individual assignments than do the Sanlee students who have homework every day. Therefore teachers in our high schools should assign homework no more than twice a week.

The argument presented regards frequency of homework and makes various deductions based on it. But the information provided is incomplete and the underlying assumptions are not too precise as well. To conclude the usefulness of the homework various other aspects of the homework are to be also considered. For instance in the state of Marlee, science and maths assignments are given twice or three times a week but it doesn't take into account the amount of homework given with comparison to Sanlee. If Sanlee gives homework in each subject about half an hour each daily and if Marlee gives homework of about two hours in each subject. Then, the conclusion drawn from the argument becomes absurd. If amount and intensity are also provided then only proper comparison of the suitability of homework frequency can be made.

In addition, the earning of better grades and not repeating a school don't only depend on the efficacy of the homeworks Various other factors are to be taken into account like:- the students learning wants, the teaching efficiency, the question papers relative difficulty, intelligence of the students and so on. Better grades are the function of all the aforementioned characters and more . So, without going for harsh conclusion based on only frequency of homeworks , survey should have based on all the hollistic factors regarding students grades.

To continue, the reliability of the data regarding the survey as the high schools would like to come off good and lure students to their schools as they dont give regular homeworks which are not liked by the students might also be affecting the conclusion . The number of high school surveys done in both the districts, amount of maths and science teachers asked, number of students in each high school where the survey was done should also ne taken into account. For example:- if comparison is made between the high schools with vast number of student difference , then the conclusion can be easily flawed.

Additionally, the time the students use instead of doing home work also has a cursory assumptions that they will indulge in individual assignments . What if the students are not practicing in the leisure time and playing or indulging in social networks and so on. The other overlying assumption is the homework being completed by the students. You can give as much homework you want if the students are not completing it and are copying it from one or two students of the high school. That doesn't help you better your grades . It could have been the situation of Sanlee school . Rather than focusing on the frequency of the homework the completion of the homework would have helped us to go to a better conclusion.

In conclusion, the conclusion questioning the dearth of homework will increase the better grades and not repeating a year is far from conclusive to follow to the point. The necessary assumptions like:- completion of homework, efficiency of math teachers, intelligence and learning attitude of the students, the amount of high schools surveyed, the number of students in then etc are all to be put into considerations before being able to make a reliable recommendations and a valid suggestion.