Critical judgment of work in any given field has little value unless it comes from someone who is an expert in that field.

There is a propensity of people to give judgement. No matter if they are related to the field or not . If they listen to some topic they are bound to give some of their judgement albeit abstruse or not. The world nowadays is an expert seeker. From house-making to health issues, people are going up to an expert for efficient use of their money and time. Critical judgement in any given field is no exception . I completely agree with the authors claim about the reliability of the judgement should only be given value of an expert.

Firstly, the judgement is an paramount critearia for the evaluation of the work or studies going on. Critical judgement- the one which guides to the betterment of the work and proper analysis regarding the extent of relevancy of the particular subject should only come from the experts itself who are the luminaries in that field and can essentially help to improve the conditions of the work and make it a very fruitful one. The opposite view of the author's claim might contend on the fact that one need not have to be an expert to give critical judgement. Even a perfunctory knowledge in any field will be enough to dissect the work of any given field and critically evaluate it.Take for instance:- The judge in supreme court might not have the knowledge regarding every fields like :- engineering,agriculture,land tenure but he is able to critically evaluate and give judgement based on that.

Secondly, the judgement provided by the one with cursory knowledge have a high chance of being filled with errors as he does not have any experience of the field and don"t know the circumstances regarding it. For a small example to yell at a Television when Messi or Ronaldo misses a penalty and suggesting even I would have scored that , further going on to tell he should have hit it with conviction to the top right corner and so and so would not have considered the pressure of carrying a nation or a team in a world tournament. The expectation, circumstances, opposition keeper should all have been taken into account by the pundits of that field. Hence the reliability of the judgement is more.

On the contrary, if u see a ditch in a road which has just been pitched a few day back or if there is an obvious clear error or as u might say a blunder , one need not have to be a expert to criticize such works and such critical evaluation should have a certain amount of value . The availability of the experts to examine your work might be the another factor pursuading the antagonists of the author's claim. The cost factor also come into account as the critical judgement by an expert is a tad expensive and cant be afforded by all the people. For a perfect example :- If a farmer wants to know the reason behind the yield loss of his farm, he needs to seek an expert in many fields of agronomy,horticulture,economist, plant pathologist etc which is way out of his budget and he goes with the common interpretation of a disease and insect and does the action accordingly.

To sum it all up, experts of the field know every bit of details regarding the limitations, scope of the field and can eventually give a critical judgement which will help to ultimately reach the goal of the work but an cursory judgement may be a foolish and an absurd viewpoint which has no such importance.