"Despite its downtown location, the Rialto Movie Theater, a local institution for five decades, must make big changes or close its doors forever. It should follow the example of the new Apex Theater in the mall outside of town(1). When the Apex opened last year, it featured a video arcade, plush carpeting and seats, and a state-of-the-art sound system(2,3). Furthermore, in a recent survey, over 85 percent of respondents (4)reported that the high price of newly released movies prevents them from going to the movies more than five times per year. Thus, if the Rialto intends to hold on to its share of a decreasing pool of moviegoers, it must(6) offer the same features as Apex(5)."

In this argument, the manager conclude that Dialto Theater should offers the same feature as Apex do. To justify this conclusion, the manager shows the excellent hardware of Apex Theater and present a survey, showing that it is the high price preventing a large amount of audiences go to the cinema frequently. However, the argument contains some unjustifiable assumptions which may weaken the validity of the conclusion.

The manager assume that the new Apex Theater will harvest a commercial success and that is why the Rialto Movie Theater should learn for the hardware condition. However, some assumptions should be confirmed to bolster this conclusion. Actually, there is no reason to ensure that the Apex Theater will gain a huge success. May be the excellent hardware makes the ticket price higher which may have pessimistic influence on the profit it takes. Even if the truly success is taken place in the Apex Theater, it is unreasonable to ensure that the key to the theater’s thrive are the features mentioned above. To verify the augments, the manager should do more surveys to confirm if the features in the Apex Theater are worthy to learn.

A recent survey is brought by the manager to show the price burden stop some respondents from going to theater frequently. In fact, it is still unclear if the respondents can present the whole citizen in the downtown and if the price of the ticket is truly high. For the former one, respondents of this survey may consist of the people with poor economic condition. And they can not represent the major consumer of the theater. Besides, for the latter one, there has possibility that the consumers lie to the survey for their money-saving propose even if the ticket price is low enough for everybody. The tenability of the survey should be confirmed by the manager in order to verify the conclusion.

The manager suggests imitating the same feature of the Apex Theater in order to share the decreasing pool of moviegoers. However, the same features of different theater may intensify rather than release the competition between two theaters and the manager ignore some disadvantages after the imitation. There must have some loyal consumers of the Rialto Theater. Just imagine, if a theater that you are familiar and fond are transferring to another theater style which you don’t like at all. Will you go to the theater again? The answer is no. So the manager should evaluate the assumption and balance the eager of the loyal consumers and the new consumers.

To sum up, with the reevaluation of the assumption, by dueling with the problems mentioned before, a more prudent and comprehensive decision will be made.