Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Should educational institutions get involve into the choice which there’s students willing to research? On one hand, helping their students to pursue an achievable goal is helpful, especially to the extent about the satisfaction of material need. While, on the other hand, giving students a hasty guidance may have some negative effect to their life-long pursing.

Helping students to choose their pursuing goal is a beneficial effort, especial when students thoughts are still immature. Because different is existed between individuals, some students may gift in a typical realm like math or art rather than other field. There is no doubt that giving some guidance for a student in order to find his gifted realm is meaningful. Barack Obama, once enacted a act called ‘Every Student Succeeds Act’, which focus on the quality education rather than the exam-oriented education. The main idea of the policy is to make sure that every individual can do what they are good at and turning their interests to their career. If the education institution failed to give some instruction to students, some precious talent may just waste. Meanwhile, if students can choose their life-long pursuing career as soon as possible, it is more likely to achieve the goal for the students. And, to the mankind extent, contributing to the human.

Some passive effect may take place at the same time if the education institution fails to balance the degree between students interests and their talents. To the teachers’ attitude, it is true that students will be more likely to success in when they have talent in a field. But sometimes, what students are good at is mismatching to there interests. And when a student chooses a particular realm to be his career, it will be a disaster if he is not interested in it at all. Due to the Maslow’s hierarchy needs theory, when the basic survival need is satisfied, people will try to satisfy some superior needs like self-actualization. To achieve this goal, the basic is to find a region someone is really interested in. So, if the guider fails to notice what a particular student are truly interested and turn him into another realm, it will be a disaster to the student.

To sum up, it is worthwhile to help students to find their more likely to success, however, the student’s interests should not be ignored contemporarily.