Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade averages at Omega have risen by 30 percent. Potential employers, looking at this dramatic rise in grades, believe that grades at Omega are inflated and do not accurately reflect student achievement; as a result, Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. To enable its graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the argument above, Author conclude that to make their graduates to secure better job, the university should terminate student evaluation of professor. The author make the conclusion based on the evidence that with this evaluation process only increase on the student grades but student are unsuccessful to get better job when they are graduate from university. However author come out to this conclusion without firm and complete evidence, so for better substantiation of this argument author need to evaluate the evidences.

Evidence concerning student rise in average grade point by 30 percent which was only given by the professor without regarding the student performance seems illogical. Rise in grade is depending on different factor such as student performance, enrollment of quality of students, teaching pattern of teacher and nature of students. It is possible that professors might change his/ her teaching and evaluation pattern bitterly than 15 years ago. If the professor gave the grade without evaluating the performance, some of the student would not satisfy this process and he/she would inclined to complain the university administrations. Perhaps, it might be true that, student laboriously studied to get better grades from the professor. If this true, the argument might not hold water.

Evidence regarding the grades at Alpha University, if the grade point Average at Alpha University are also high similar to those at Omega University, then the graduates of this university are securing jobs more easily than the graduates from omega university for factor unrelated to grades. Perhaps Alpha University has better alumni that allow its graduates to find employment more easily.

Evidence regarding the securing of jobs after graduates from Omega University depends on the student inclination toward the jobs. Perhaps, the student passed out from this university are seeking for better opportunity such further study, preparation for high level jobs, spending time for applying international university. It is possible that Alpha University graduate don’t practice this activities for further career development but settled on jobs of low quality.

In conclusion, author need to evaluate above evidence for making his argument strong and logical. He should analyze his argument in term of different other factor such as student quality, inclination toward jobs, teaching pattern etc. Doing so, then argument will be valid.