“In the first four years that Montoya has served as mayor of the city of San Perdito, the population has decreased and the unemployment rate has increased. Two businesses have closed for each new business that has opened. Under Varro, who served as mayor for four years before Montoya, the unemployment rate decreased and the population increased. Clearly, the residents of San Perdito would be best served if they voted Montoya out of office and reelected Varro.”

The author of the argument concluded that Mr. Varro would serve the residents of San Perdito well compare the Mr. Montoya. The conclusion cites population and employment rate are the reasons behind this, as unemployment rate has increased while population rate has decreased during the era of Mr. Montoya. Whereas during era of Mr. Varro, it was completely opposite. This has arguments several weak assumptions; hence, argument is flawed and unsubstantiated.

Firstly, the major flaw in this argument is the comparison of data in term of rate, not in term of absolute value. For instance, population size in Montoya’s era is, let’s say, 1000 and decreased at a rate of 10% and unemployment rate, let’s say, increased at rate of 5%. Then, absolute values are 100 and 50 respectively, that means ratio of decrease population vs decrease 100/50=2. Similarly if in Varro's era population size is, let's say, 10000 and increased at a rate of 10% and unemployment rate, let's say, decreased at rate of 5%. Then absolute values are 1000 and 500 respectively, that means ratio of increase population vs decrease 1000/500= 2. Therefore, without absolute value it is hard to predict the right person.

Secondly, the argument says that during Mr. Montoya’s era two businesses have closed for each new business that has opened. However, there is no evidence what happened during Mr. Varro's ruling. Without any specific value, it will be unwise to conclude Mr. Montoya is not a better candidate than Mr. Varro for the citizen of San Perdito.

The argument is flawed due to the reasons mentioned above, and hence remains unconvincing. However, had the author mentioned required data, the argument could have been strengthened.