"Five years ago, at a time when we had difficulties in obtaining reliable supplies of high quality wool fabric, we discontinued production of our alpaca overcoat. Now that we have a new fabric supplier, we should resume production. This coat should sell very well: since we have not offered an alpaca overcoat for five years and since our major competitor no longer makes an alpaca overcoat, there will be pent-up customer demand. Also, since the price of most types of clothing has increased in each of the past five years, customers should be willing to pay significantly higher prices for alpaca overcoats than they did five years ago, and our company profits will increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the memo, the new vice president of Sartorian avers that the company’s decision on resuming the alpaca overcoat production will lead to the increase of the company profits. Although the argument may seem convincing at first, the lack of evidences leads readers to conclude that the argument is flawed on many grounds.

To begin with, the author needs to provide solid evidence that the alpaca coat that the company decided to resume to produce will have high demands. On the contrary to the author’s rosy expectation, it is not that the lack of supply always leads to the increase of demand. For example, it is plausible that people will now deem an alpaca coat as outmoded, and consequently that the demand on the coat is not significant. Furthermore, it is also possible that the supply of an alpaca coat has not ever been diminished. the customers have possibly been able to buy the coat through the internet from other clothing manufactures. Thus, the author needs to elaborate on his argument on the expected increase of the demand for the coat.

Furthermore, more cogent pieces of evidence are needed on whether the customers will willingly pay higher prices than they disbursed five years ago. In general, it is more likely that the increase of price of a product makes the customers reluctant to pay for it, and consequently reduces the demand on the product. Therefore, it is entirely possible that the current customers will tend to buy the coat less than they did five years ago. Therefore, the author needs to provide more grounds on the averred willingness of customers on paying for the coats.

Last but not least, the author needs to supplement the argument with more concrete evidence on whether the increased price of the coat necessarily engenders the increase of the profit. It is likely that the increased price of clothing is accompanied by the increase of the production expense for clothing. If the difference between the increased cost overrides the increase of the clothing price, the company will make decreased profit. In other words, without any further elaborated argument, it is illogical to conclude that the increased price will result in the increase of the company profit.

In conclusion, the argument in the memo is unpersuasive on many grounds. In order to bolster the argument, the author needs to provide more solid evidence on the prospected increase of the demands on the coat, of the willingness of customers on paying for the coats, and of the company profits.