"The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the memo, the director of the Super Screen Movie Production argues that the company should increase a share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising. The author supplements his argument based on the assumption that the conclusion based on the recent report should remain valid in the long run and that the public's lack of awareness of their movies is the problem. The argument seems convincing at first glance; however, the unanswered questions lead readers to conclude that the argument is flawed on many grounds.

To begin with, the director needs to answer the question whether the survey result that reports the decrease of the attendants remain valid in the long run. This is due to the fact that the survey was done only during the past year, and consequently that the result might simply be an abberation. It is plausible, for example, that the last year's decrease of the attendants could be caused by adverse economy. Therefore, the author should provide more information about the prospective long-term tendency of the number of customers.

In addition, the author should supplement his argument with more cogent answer to the question whether the increase of the positive reviewers indicate the high quality of the company's films. As evinced in the memo, the number of customers is dropped last year. Therefore, in all likelihood, it could be that the reviews are more positively biased, since only those who care little about the quality of films might have chosen to remain as a customer. Therefore, the author should add more information on the public perspective on the quality of the film.

Furthermore, more answers are needed to the question whether the public are not aware of the company's film. It is plausible that the notoriety of the company's film is the reason of the decreased number of the customers. If this is the case, it is the quality of the film, not the lack of awareness, that causes the problem to the company. Therefore, the author should add more answers to whether the company's film is not advertised enough.

In brief, the author's argument is not convincing on many aspects. Therefore, the author should bolster his argument by providing more information on the long-term validity of the survey result, the reliability of the positive comments, and the grounds of neglecting the possibility that the company's film is already advertised well.