Competition for high grades seriously limits the quality of learning at all levels of education.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Grades are the only data that evidence the performance of students, but some people are skeptical about their reliabiliy. In this regard, some people rather radically aver that all the quality of learning at all levels of edcuation will be greatly limited by competition for high grades. Although this perspective is indeed true in most cases, I believe that in some cases high grades will enhance the quality of learning.

Granted, myopically seeking good grades will deteriorate the quality of learning. This is because good grades are in general given to those who "memorize" the textbook information well. In addition, it is notable that nearly in all fields and levels of education, simply memorizing the textbook information seriously challenges the quality of learning, for the quality of learning is determined by understanding not memorizing. For example, the college admission exam of South Korea is desigend to assess the student's ability to memorize well, and it is well knowen that the students with the good grades in those exam do not necessarily show significant academic performances. Furthermore, those students often choose to forgo their academic career and choose other lucrative jobs. As this compeling example reveals, the

However, in the early stage of education, simply memorizing information is one of the main objective of education, and therefore will enhance the quality of learning. This is because in the rudimentary education, some basic information, such as the multiplication table, should be memorized. In this case, students can recieve meaningful education by the memorization-oriented exam, and thus the competition toward good grades can be used as an incentive to foster students to memorize some basic knowledge, enhancing the overall quality of education.

In addition, by meticulously designing exams, the competition can also enhance the quality of learning even in the higher levels of education. For example, teachers can carefully design exams to assess how well students understand the underlying principle, rather than how well they memorize. In this case, the competition will let students seek more profound understanding regarding their learning material. Therefore, the compeition will result in the overall increase of the understanding level of students, and thus aggrandize the quality of education.

In brief, although in most cases the quality of education is marred by the competition for good grades, the competition can positively contribute to the educational quality in the early stage of education, and even in the higher levels when the exams are designed well.