The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp.

"20 years ago, Dr.Field, conducted a study of Tertia and claimed from his observations that the children were reared by the entire village than by their own biological parents. However a new study that included interviews with children living in the islands show that they spend more time talking about their parents than other adults. This results in Dr.Kapr denoting that the study and observation of Dr. Field to be wrong.

"Observation is half the truth"

It has timed and tested over the years, the full truth can be brought forward by only analyzing all its sides. Observation merely beings up one side of a multi dimensional plane. In the argument, Dr. Field brought up his observation about the children of Tertia as the truth he perceived. According to him, the children were reared by the entire village rather than by their own parents.

Contrary to his research, a recent study in which, children were interviewed to get their perspective on cultures and tradition, proved to be other wise. The study showed that the children spent more time talking about their parents rather than other adults in the village. With this study, the author proposes that the study and research conducted by Dr.Field on the behavior of children as well as culture is not accurate.

This proposition obviously had a lot of assumptions and premises that needs to be answered.

On the part of Dr. Field, the main question that arises is how he came up with the conclusion. What was the sample size of children he had observed ? If the sample size was small, his conclusion will be most doubted upon as being partial to a small group. If the sample population size was big enough, was the population consisting of all the different ideologies that existed in the society? Was their representations proportional? If yes, then the strength of this argument depends upon the error rate and how he observed the error rate.

Apart from this, what was his mode of observation? Without proper interaction and just observation of actions can bring up alot of anomalies in interpretation. For example, The number six(6) if written on a paper, will be read differently by people standing opposite to each other as six(6) or nine(9). Thus proper communication medium is a must to bridge the gap in understanding. With this, he being a noted anthropologist, why did he only rely on the means of observation rather than conducting a proper 2 way assessment to gain the whole scenario? In the passage it seems he observed without proper interaction with the locals to gain their insights. This could seriously undermine his observation as his own version of truth.

On the other hand, for the recent study by Dr.Karp, the team interacted with the locals, gained their perspective and arrived at a different result. This could depend on a variety of factors. With the time difference between the 2 studies, did the attitude and outlook of the village and children change? If yes, then it would undermine the claim that Dr.Field's study and observations were false. Did the villagers change their attitude seeing outsiders and researchers? This could lead to falsified data being used for inferences and conclusions.

The results of Dr.Karp's study is based upon the statement that the children spent more time talking about their parents than about other adults.This could lead to the question about what the interactions are between the team and the villagers. What are the questions being asked? Are the questions being asked skewed to achieve a motivated purpose? Like the faces of a coin, is the study just focusing on modifying their favorable part of the story and leaving the rest out? This could seriously undermine the results of the study.

Adding to this, how did they come up to the conclusion from just the study that showed more talk about parents than other adults from the children. It could be that the children are close to other adults as well but do not have exciting stories with them to share.

With these assumptions and motivations, conclusion seems to be under doubt. But the passage surely would support a whole hearted conversation, interaction and observations to be joined together to piece up the entire puzzle of real truth.