The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

"The world is as you perceive it"

The argument provided has been considered a premise under various cultures of the world. We as humans learn as we perceive it. Being praised for a task, provides us incentive to do it again while being castigated prevents us from doing it. It is similar to what criminal court of law proposes ,i.e, after commiting crime, being punished will prevent the individual from repeating it when freed. Similar to this, to inculcate positive acitons and thinking, it is a good approach to praise them for it.

The Brain is designed to learn in a reinforcement learning manner. This is that the brain appreciated positive praises as rewards and rewires the action to achieve the maximum reward while doing any task. So praising them for positive actions provide the brain the incentive to again repeat or commit positive action.

For Example, to train a baby, actions that are deemed to be appropriate are shown and appreciated when the baby does it. Like speaking "MAMA" or "DADA" will gain him appreciation and praise. This helps and promote his brain to rewire to call "MAMA" and "DADA". Similarly in case of dogs. Dogs go and fetch stick as it will be praised and rewarded.

Adopting this approach is certainly a different case. This approach will yield the best result when applied to children. This is because they start with a clean slate and all the things taught young are ingrained in them. Apart from this, it will be easier for them to gain more praises and thus feel more rewarded, which in turn inculcates in them a character of doing positive actions.

This approach can be of a bit challenge to grown up humans,especially those who have had a tough life. This is because, the grown ups have to face the real world and its adversities. This in turn makes them more realistic affected by outsiders more. For example, in a prison, applying this way will probably not yield any result. This is because of various reasons. Being in a prison castigates them, making their though process negative. Being surrounded with other prisoners more develop conversations and thought process where the possibility of being praised is second to none. The sheer peer pressure that surrounds them will not let the technique succeed.

Surely, this approach has potential as it utilizes the basis approach in which brain is trained and develops but in a realistic world, its positive effect will most likely be constrained to the younger and the positive outlooked population.