Space exploration should be dedicatedly use rovers instead of manned mission

"Exploring the unknown is what makes life" - APJ Abdul Kalam, former President of India

The argument considering to use probes and unmanned mission to collect vital data points as accomplishes till now rather than the risks and cost of manned missions, cover a lot of unstated assumptions and premises that should be considered.

One of the most important factor that comes into play for any mission is the cost. Is the cost of developing mission with robots cheaper than with humans? The world is driven by economics. It is the major decision player. With the massive developments that we have witnessed in the field of robotics, from just a figure which could walk, to modern day Honda Asimo which is employed into a variety of tasks ranging from housekeeping to playing, we have come a long way.

So can a modern robot cost less to develop as well as to maintain and sustain for a mission than a human and achieve the same outcomes? If the answer to the questions comes up to be a resounding yes, then it makes sense. Examples of this approach can be seen from the Mars Rover Missions, eg- Rover Discovery, that has been sent by NASA to research the surface of Mars. It is widely considered, the amount of information, the rover sent back has helped scientists know a lot more in details than the earlier speculations. It has helped discover the chemical compositions to the mineral reserves possible to glaciers that could have existed. Another notable example being of the different missions of the Moon. Since during the start of the moon race, robotics was still in its infancy, the only option was a manned mission like the Apollo 11. These manned missions posed to be great success in determining various aspects about the moon's surface.

The second most important factor that comes to play is the risk involved. Human life is valuable. Considering this, the 1st living being in space was a dog, that was sent by the USSR to study the effects that could be on a human. This is one of the main factors that comes when considering sending men into the unkown. The uncertainty is enormous and can drive any amount of accomplishment into dusts. This is why, during the US presidential adress of the nation after the launch of Apollo 11 mission, had 2 speeches prepared- one for success and the other for failure. If the risk involved is far greater than the assumed accomplishments, it is often considered to not involve and play with human lives.

With the developments in space tech, we have witnessed billionaires going to space, eg Jeff Bezos, space is now becoming a known world. But still, the risks involved have not been reduced. The risks on the other hand has been increased with the large amount of debris of dormant space satellites and launches that pose a great risk to the well known International Space Station.

One hidden factor that always comes into play but is well hidden is the political agenda. Many times, to appease the people, for political gains, to ascertain superiority, unwarrented space programs are granted that have many times resulted in loss of human life- the famous crash of Apollo 15 on re-entering the Earth Atmosphere which happened during the epitome of the Space Race during the Cold War. Many such un-warrented missions have been undertaken to boost the morale of a nation, though many becoming success, few were disasterous too. With a stable world where we live, this can be seen as the last factor that any country or organization can consider, but still is emminent.

Apart from these, there can be a variety of other assumptions regarding the long term plans- inhabiting another planet, that come into play while considering the best options. Examples of this can be seen from the stives by Spacex to develop a stable rocket powerful enough to get humans to mars with enough payloads to help start living and inhabiting the planet. Many space firms share the idea of a multi-panetary human species, and thus, the long term plans and goals can indeed be an important factor.