The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

Section 2. Analytical Writing

“Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the

argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The above passage claims that Dr Field’s conclusion is incorrect and that interview-centered method is more accurate that the observation-centered approach. I find that it required some more evidence and proofs to accurately assert that the above claims are precisely correct.

The first evidence that would be required is the changes that have occurred during the 20 years span of time in the island of Tertia. As Dr Field has conducted his research 20 years ago and Dr Karp interviewed the children after 20 years, there are chances that the people of Tertia have adopted some changes in their culture for upbringing their children and hence we cannot positively say whether Dr Field’s conclusion are incorrect.

The second evidence that we required is the exact geographic location in island of Tertia where the Dr Field conducted his research. Because in the passage it is stated that Dr Karp conducted his interviews with “children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia”. There are possibilities that in other islands (aside from Tertia), the child-rearing culture may be different from the culture of Tertia and that’s why the children over there be talking about their biological parents.

To proceed further and make accurate conclusions, I also require the notes or scripts of conversations that occur during the interview between children and Dr Karp. What were the questions asked to them exactly by the graduate students who interviewed them. As there are chances that the questions asked to the children were biased and asked only regarding the biological parents and thus the children replies were lying totally in that domain. Then we cannot assuredly say that how and whom they were raised with?

The last evidence that would be required is regarding to accuracy of the methods. One cannot claim that any particular method is accurate by just on the basis of results of one experiment/study. Further examples/more number of studies and their results are required to prove the validity of a particular method. Hence Dr Karp asserting that interview-centered approach is much more accurate than observation-centered approach is inevident.

To summarise, certain evidences are required to further evaluate this argument by Dr Karp and to prove the validity of his research. We require the changes that have occurred in island of Tertia during the period of 20 years, the location of research where Dr Field conducted his study, script for the interview conversation and more study examples based on the culture study (at different locations) using observation-centered and interview-centered approaches.