The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence would be needed in order to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The given passage asserts that to increase their number of viewers, they need to devote more time to the weather oriented and local news. The passage certainly does not provide enough evidence to assure this recommendation would be the most effective one.

In the first sentence "Over the past year, ...", the passage states the use of phrases 'late-night time period' and ' increased time'. Now from the given piece of information, it does not exactly define the time period which late-night time refers to. So the exact time, for example, the time between 11:00 PM to 2:00 PM is called a late-night time period, evidence is required. This will narrow the scope of the manager's interest and find the associated problems in this much time only making the process more effective. The other evidence that is needed is how much time is exactly given to the national coverage, weather forecasting, and local news. Detailed information should be given for the past year about how much each of these categories is covered during a given period of late-night time. This will also allow the manager to evaluate the number of viewers for each of these categories more easily.

Secondly, the passage states that there were complaints received from the viewers regarding the coverage of weather and local news. Now it may also possible that the complaints of viewers regard to cover other areas for weather forecasting or give a more detailed summary of weather forecast or cover other areas of the city for local news. It cannot be implied from just the given statement that it is regarding to increase the time of weather and local news coverage. So the evidence of all complaints must be evaluated before implying that the complaints concern the issue of weather and local news coverage.

The passage also states that some local business companies have cancelled their advertising contracts. Now it is not necessary that this is the result of less number of viewers during the late-night time period. It may also be possible due to the station's policies that may have discomforted the local business companies and thus cancelled their contracts. So the evidence of why the local business companies have cancelled their advertisement contracts and which of them has cancelled it must be stated so the manager can know the exact reason for it.

In the last stated recommendation, it is stated that by restoring the weather and local news time to its former level would attract more viewers and also they will not lose any further advertising revenues. It is not supported by the evidence of that this is the only way to do it. The manager must evaluate other options as well before making a conclusive decision. Also there should be evidence provided that the former level of weather and local news coverage time will satisfy the viewer and local business company needs.

To summarise, certain evidences are required to evaluate the given argument. These evidences are the exact time period of late-night, how much national news, weather news and local news are covered during this late-night time period, what was exactly written in the viewer complaints, the reason for cancelling the advertising contracts and evidence that the given recommendation will satisfy the viewer needs. These evidences must be taken into the account before evaluating the given recommendation.