The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

“According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public’s lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

After reading the above stated memo of Super Screen Movie Production Company, it clearly lacks the part of information in form of reasons and figures that needs to be stated in order to evaluate the stated recommendation.

Firstly, in the very beginning of the passage, it was stated that fewer people has attended the Super Screen produced movies in the past year. And following that sentence, it also says that the percentage of the positive reviews for movie has increased during the past year. Now it seems a vague information as the percentage does not illustrate the actual numbers but rather it shows the proportion of quantities. For example, if there are 100 people watching the movie and 60 of them gave a positive review, we can say that the percentage of positive review for the movie is 60%. However, if the number of people watching the movie decreased to 90 people and again 60 out of them gave a positive review, the percentage of positive review increases to about 66%. This does not mean show that more people have given the positive reviews for the movie and hence the percentage only emphasizes the proportion of the quantity. So to question the author, how many people attended the movie during the last 3 years and how many people have given the positive reviews for that? These questions should be answered in order to evaluate to number of positive reviews for a movie gained in the past 3 years and then compare them.

Secondly, the author states that clearly these reviews do not reach to their prospective viewers. Now I don’t see it clearly as how do the author came to know that the contents of these reviews have not reached their viewers? It is possible that the viewers have read the reviews through social media and still did not liked it. It is unjustified here and the usage of word “clearly” is inappropriate as the author has not stated an answer to the above question in this paragraph.

In the sentence “Thus, the problem lies not with the …” the author asserts that the quality of movie is not the problem indicating that their movies are of top notch quality. But how can they assert that their movie quality is very good? They have not mentioned any critics review or imdb ratings or any authentic statements that augments the quality of their movie. So it is obscure here regarding the information of movie quality asserted.

Lastly, in the given last recommendation statement, the author indicates that advertising is the only option to make people aware of their movie quality and reviews. It is not shown here that whether the author has considered other options that can make people aware of the reviews from well-known movie critics or the recognized standard of IMDb rating. There is possible that there may be other options available and thus they should be considered too before allocating the greater share of budget to the advertising department.

To summarize, there are certain questions that needs to be answered in order to remove nebulous information given in the memo. These questions are how many people attended the movie during the last 3 years and how many people have given the positive reviews for that? how do the author came to know that the contents of these reviews have not reached their viewers? how can they assert that their movie quality is very good? And whether the author has considered other options that can make people aware of the positive reviews? Before evaluating the given recommendation, one should have clear answers for the above mentioned questions and then evaluate accordingly.