Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the wellbeing of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

I strongly position myself with the view that a corporation should promote the wellbeing of the societies and environments in which they operate. Because even if you are operating within the norms, the sole purpose should not be to be lucrative. Yes, definitely any corporation should earn money and make profit but it would be an additional surplus if the products, from which they are gaining the profit, also augment the growth of environment as after all, we are living in a complex mutual ecosystem. During the epoch of CFC refrigerants, many air-conditioning and refrigeration industries were using these CFC based fluids for their products. During that time, the law did not know the consequences of using them. Until the discovery of an ozone hole over Artic subcontinent which was mainly caused due to the release of these chlorofluorocarbon gases in the atmosphere, these refrigerants were then substituted by a more viable and eco-friendly refrigerant. This was one of those times where humanity realised the importance of the environment.

Even today, many firms and industries are putting immense amount of their money for the research of renewable sources of energy. The question is why is that? Even though the automobiles conform with the standards of carbon emission, there are new inventions going on that is exploring the flied of hybrid vehicles, bio-fuels, renewable sources of energy, etc. This is because the humanity has faced two problems; one is the increase in temperature of the ambience that has led to the global effect called global warming and the other is lack of abundance of the non-renewable energy sources like crude oil.

Another example that illustrates that the corporations are trying to reduce the risks of exposure to potentially harmful environments is the involvement of robots. Robots are now being implemented in automobiles, manufacturing, electronics, food and beverages and many other sectors. For example, in forging industries the humans are exposed to high temperatures, heavy machineries that increase the chances of a fatal injury. By the involvement of robot, these risks are diminished and thus promote the safety standards and well being of their employees. If we look on the other side, robots also increase the overall productivity of the plant and thus we can say more profit can be made.

To summarise, now the corporations are not just looking for lucrative product but also it should be sustainable with the environment and promote the wellbeing of the society. And for this lots and lots of research is being made to achieve this goal. If any new established corporation has a single-minded goal of making only money, I would question him/her that “Should that be your only goal?”. After all these products are going to be used in the society where WE live.