Every individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and resist unjust laws.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Any individual person has its own psychology and mental thinking process which differentiates from others. The law will be just and morally appropriate for him if it doesn’t affect with his lifestyle, culture and his views. If it goes out of his/her comforting limits, he/she will start to think that this particular law is not just and would try to avoid or resist it. To further illustrate the given claim, I will explain using an example. In India to get admission in government college, there is a reservation quota of 51% for lower castes and scheduled tribes and the rest 49% is for general (open) category. This law has been declared by the government so that it can give opportunity to lower caste people to get admission in renowned colleges (like IITs) and even if any child from that category studies from such prestigious college, he/she can overcome that barrier from which their family were struggling for over years. But controversially, this reduces the opportunity for open category children and thus increasing the competition between them. So in their point of view, they would feel that the law is unjust for them.

Another example that I would like to discuss is regarding the income tax implied while purchasing an estate or land. Here in India, if any male person purchases a house he has to show that his income is sufficient so that he can purchase the house and consequently, an income tax is applied on him. While if the same person purchases the same house plot but in the name of her wife who is a household lady, then that law will not be applied on her and thus no income tax would be applied on them. According to me, this is not appropriate as the law just applies to the purchaser of that estate but does not look into the background of the family or person who is purchasing.

I would like to further add an example to support my position. During the earlier age when there were different kingdoms with their respective kings, there existed a law of taxes for the people living inside the kingdom. Now if the king is merciful and kind, he will allow the law to be implicated in such way that the public of his would not feeling any pinch while paying the taxes. But simultaneously, if he is a tyrant ruler, the people has to pay the taxes anyhow regardless the circumstances whenever the time is due. So for those people, the law to pay the taxes would be unfair to them and they would not accept in their moral views.

To restate it again, every person thinks that a law is morally appropriate if it satisfies and lies in their comfort zones. If the law will go out of those bounds, that person will feel that the law is unjust for him/her and it is not morally right.