The following appeared as part of a promotional campaign to sell advertising on channels provided by the local cable television company.

“Advertising with Cable Communications Corp. is the most effective way to increase a company’s profits. Recently, Adams Car Dealership began advertising with Cable Communications, and over a subsequent 30-day period, the dealership’s sales rose 15% over sales the previous month. In addition, the company’s customer ratings show that people who purchase new cars from Adams are more satisfied with the quality and performance of their vehicles than are car dealership customers on average. Customer satisfaction has been found to be a key factor in positive word-of-mouth publicity.”

Cable Communcations asserted that its advertisement is the most effective method to increase a company’s revenue, and it cited the performance of its client, Adams Car Dealership, to argue that companies who use the services of Cable Communications would be more profitable. However, Cable Communications has assumed that the sales of the car dealership is directly correlated with the advertisements, but has not provided any concrete evidence to support this assumption.

First, Cable Communications mentioned that after Adams Car Dealership started advertising with Cable Communications, the dealership’s sales rose by 15% over a 30-day period. However, Cable Communications assumed that this higher profit was a direct result of the advertisement. In reality, Adams Car Dealership might have ran a promotion campaign, reduced the price of its products, or introduced an innovative new type of vehicle during the same period. Cable Commuications should provide data indicating that more customers purchased vehicles from Adams Car Dealership because they saw advertisements on Cable Communications to make its assertion more convincing.

Second, Cable Communications stated that customers of Adams Car Dealership are more satisfied with the quality and performance of the vehicles than custormers who purchase their vehicles elsewhere. Again, Cable Communications has not provided the correlation between the preference of customers and the advertisements of Cable Commuications. Customers might have opted to buy from Adams Car Dealership regardless of the content of the advertisements. Cable Communications would be able to support its claim that its advertisements could increase the profitability of companies if it could provide substantial evidence that demonstrates that a large number of customers saw its advertisements and understood the superior quality and performance of vehicles of Adams Car Dealership.

Third, Cable Commuications indicated that customer satisfaction is crucial for positive word-of-mouth publicity. However, Cable Commuications has failed to prove that cable television is the main method for spreading positive word-of-mouth publicity. In fact, nowadays most people use online forums or social media to discuss their preferences and choices, and cable television might not be the main source of information. Cable Commuications could support its arguments if it could reveal that a high proportion of viewers received positive word-of-mouth publicity from its advertisements and held favorable views for Adams Car Dealership as a result.

In conclusion, Cable Commuications believed that its advertisements could help companies generate higher profits, and it used the revenue of Adams Car Dealership as an example to illustrate its point. However, the arguements of Cable Commuications are not convincing because it has not provided evidence that demonstrates that people bought vehicles from Adams Car Dealership because they saw advertisements of Cable Commuications nor data that suggest that people had a higher customer satisfaction for Adams Car Dealership after they viewed the advertisements. The presence of these supporting evidence would make the claims of Cable Communications more convincing.