"When we assume that we already know the truth, we impede our own progress."

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. Consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how those considerations shape your position.

The definition of assumption is to use current knowledge to infer a conclusion. Assumptions are dangerous because we may not know the entire picture and become limited by our perspective. If we simply assume we know the truth, we risk hindering scientific discoveries, making premature decisions, and holding myopic views. Therefore, every asssumption should be carefully verified by further research and investigations.

Before Galileo proved that the sun was the center of the solar system, people believed that planets revolved around the Earth. Most people accepted this theory without further questions, but Galileo remained skeptical and used scientific methods to prove that planets actually revolved around the sun. If scientists assumed that they knew the truth, they would become more reluctant to challenge current theories because they believe that further research is unlikely to produce any surprising results. However, this mindset would impede innovative discoveries. Therefore, we should not simply assume scientific theories as the truth as even long-standings theories can be challenged and debunked.

One quality of assidious scholars is their endeavor to support their hypotheses with evidence. Research should be based on concrete evidence and discoveries, not guesses and deductions. If we assume something to be true, we should strive to verify our educated guess instead of simply making an assumption. By simply stating something as true, we are not being responsible for our comments. However, by aiming to confirm our hypotheses, we have the opportunity to make tremendous contributions to the academic community instead of simply stating an assumption.

Sometimes the truth may not be known. Suppose that a boy steals a loaf of bread from a bakery and he is severely censured for his larceny, but he committed this offense because his family was destitute and could not afford to buy any food. If adults who did not understand the boy simply assumed that the child stole because he was greedy, they miss out the chance to actually help the child and they push him further into the abyss of crime and poverty. We should not assume the truth because we might be limited by our myopic perspective. Instead, we should spend more time to understand the circumstances behind every event.

In conclusion, assuming that something is true is dangerous because it removes the incentive to research further and it could limit our view. We have to learn to never simply accept something as true and continue to strive for innovations. Furthermore, even if we believe that something is true, we should use evidence to support our claims instead of simply asserting them. Finally, we should spend time to explore the reasons behind events to prevent ourselves from having provincial outlooks.