A recently issued twenty-year study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia investigated the possible therapeutic effect of consuming salicylates. Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, food-processing companies also add salicylates to foods as preservatives. The twenty year study found a correlation between the rise in the commercial use of salicylates and a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by study participants. At the time when the study concluded, food-processing companies had just discovered that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods, and, as a result, many companies plan to do so. Based on these study results, some health experts predict that residents of Mentia will suffer even fewer headaches in the future.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

In a study on headache suffered by residents of mentia, it was concluded that the use of salicylate as additive will be instrumental in decline of headache suffered. However, before this conclusion can be accepted the following assumptions needs to be evaluated.

The Author assumed that the effectiveness of salicylate is the same as Asiprin since they belong to the same family. However, it is possible that salicylate only has mild effect on curing headache and it is not as effective as Aspirin. Also, the efficacy of salicylate needs to undergo a lot of biochemical analysis for its efficacy to be ascertained and not just on crude assumption that its basically similar to Asiprin.

Further, it is assumed that the citizens that partook in the survey only took the food processed with salicylate. It is possible that these residents are using medications and the decline in the headache cannot be solely attributed to presence of salicylate in the food they consumed. More so, it is important to understand what the study entails. Perhaps it only focused on the residents reduced on headache and not the food they consumed, if that is the case, then it is likely that most of the respondent that took part in the survey doesn’t consume food that contains salicylate at all and reduction in headache is basically due to other factors like healthy living or use of medication.

In conclusion, it is assumed that the residents will automatically switch to new product that include the use of salicylate as flavor additives. Perhaps, the residents are used to a certain local brand which is well suited for their purpose. Also, it is possible that this new product might not be to the taste of the resident, hence resulting in low purchase and not having any major health influence.

Hence, the conclusion can be accepted and requires further evaluation due to its numerous flawed assumptions which is unwarranted and requires further reevaluation.