The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist. “Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field’s conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures.” Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The Authors conclusion from his article invalidates the approach of Dr fields in the studies of the Terran culture. This conclusion is based on his interviewbased approach of the children of the community. However, for his recommended to be accepted, three evidences are to be provided.

Firstly, the author assumes that the children must have been groomed by their parent because they usually speak about them. This may possibly be wrong. Perhaps these stories may just be stories told by the Elderly ones to the children to satisfy thier inquisitiveness towards knowing their parents. It may be a Legend. There are no further evidences to prove that these stories were actually told directly by their parents. If the above senario is merited, it therefore significantly weakenes the author's conclusion.

Secondly, the interviewed base approach may not necessarily comprehensively capture the entire culture of the terran community. From the evidences provided by the Author, it is assumed that only the children who were interviewed provided the comprehensive view of the culture of the terrane community. For example. The culture of a particular community is possibly best told by the aged and elderly ones of these community. The holding precepts and chronolgy of the community is best told by those who have lived long and more experinced in the community. The above assertions may weaken the author's conclusion.

Furthermore, there are possibly other research based approach that gives an indept understanding of the culture of the terran people other than the interview based method. For example, Artifacts, marriage traditions, history books and real time study of these people may go along way in capturing the intrinsic aspect of the terran culture.

In conclusion, the evidences provided by the author are significantly weakened and thus further evidence are needed for the authors recommendation to be accepted.