The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette. "On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped

accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author’s argument regarding the reduction of mopeds on Balmer Island seems interesting but it was weakened due to the dearth of proper cogent points. Although the accidents may be related to mopeds and the surge in population, it is not clearly understood by the debate the author put up.

Pointing out the author’s final concluding and main example that neighboring island, Seville, implemented a similar sort of limitation, it is, however, not clear whether that was the only enforcement they initiated. It may be one of many ways that accidents can be stopped. There might be several more ways that law enforcers implemented in Seaville which down the line helped with the accidents. Also, the survey which was pointed out by the author of Seaville, may not be properly done. And thus, this may not be the actual depiction of what will actually happen after closing down the rental stores only similar to the neighboring island.

Shutting down rental stores is not the proper solution as because of this the council will have to pay a lot of compensation for closing them down. Moreover, it is not completely fair for the rentals to be closed as they may rent other sorts of vehicles too. A rental store has a wide variety of transportations and closing down the whole thing for only one particular vehicle type is not the proper way of handling the situation. Rentals play a vital role in the tourism aspect of the island and it may backfire by creating an aversion for the tourists to come here for the lack of facilities. The case would’ve been stronger if the author called for a restriction in mopeds rather than completely shattering the rental business as a whole.

Finally, not only the drivers of mopeds are to be blamed for the accidents but the pedestrians as well. A road accident is not caused by only the lack of sense by the driver but also the pedestrian as well. There might be an inadequate number of zebra crossings and traffic lights which may cause the stroller to cross the road in an illicit way. They might be not aware of the proper rules of the island or may be reluctant to it. It is not wise to elicit only the moped drivers for the blame whereas, it is the hikers, who are sometimes more guilty. Without proper investigation of the accident, we may not know what actually happens there. So, indicting the drivers is not the proper solution.

It is pertinent that there is a proper relation between the moped drivers and the increased number of tourists during the summer in Balmer Island, however, the author will now be able to convince the council with these weak points. Proper investigation of the accidents to find out the true reason behind occurring, restrictions in driving mopeds, and proper road regulations will ensure a much better accident-free environment in Balmer Island.