The following appeared in a memo from the owner of a chain of cheese stores located throughout the United States.

"For many years all the stores in our chain have stocked a wide variety of both domestic and imported cheeses. Last year, however, all of the five best-selling cheeses at our newest store were domestic cheddar cheeses from Wisconsin. Furthermore, a recent survey by Cheeses of the World magazine indicates an increasing preference for domestic cheeses among its subscribers. Since our company can reduce expenses by limiting inventory, the best way to improve profits in all of our stores is to discontinue stocking many of our varieties of imported cheese and concentrate primarily on domestic cheeses."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the memoranda, the owner of a chain of cheese stores concludes that his store should mainly focus on selling domestic cheeses in order to boost profit as they require less storage. The author lands on this conclusion based on a survey by Cheeses of the World magazine and a few assumptions. His intentions might prove valid and implementing it may turn out profitable, however, as it stands now, the credibility of his argument is hampered without providing shreds of evidence on the following three unwarranted assumptions.

Firstly, the author without evidence assumes that the preference of the customers that have brought from their newest outlet match with the customers of all other shops. But perhaps, this may not be the case. The other outlets may have customers who may want imported cheeses. Maybe some of the other stores are located in famous tourist spots where the customers are more inclined to buy imported cheeses for their likings. In addition, it can also be true that the new outlet has a relatively small percentage of sales compared to sales made by the chain store as a whole and maybe it is located in a very small town with not a lot of people residing. And so, maybe the sale is not significant enough to be considered important to make changes in the store’s goods being sold. If any of these scenarios are found true, then the author will fail to make a persuasive argument.

Moreover, the author assumes that the trend indicated by the survey of the Cheeses of the World magazine will persist. However, this may not be the case. It may be a case that a certain type of food has recently gained popularity which uses a certain domestic cheese and it may not be as popular after a while. Also, it can also be the case that in the same manner imported cheese will rise in popularity and people then would be more inclined to buy imported cheeses. As the tastes of people change with time, it can very well be true that people in the future may be interested in imported cheeses. if the validity of these speculations were found true then the argument put up by the owner will not hold water.

Finally, the author without any viable evidence assumes that imported cheese takes significantly more inventory space rather than domestic ones. But perhaps this assumption is fallacious. Maybe there can be a decline in cheese consumption and the shops may have to store their cheeses for a time, then regardless whether they are domestic or imported, they will hold inventory spaces. Also, it can also be the case that there may be low demand in domestic cheeses and they will have to be spaced in the inventory. And even if, say, there is a high demand for domestic cheeses, the shops would have to store them somewhere temporarily to tackle the high demand since selling cheese is an instantaneous service. So, if any of the above occurrences are true, then that would diminish the validity of the author’s argument.

In conclusion, although maybe the author is trying to make a right call, he fails to make a cogent and persuasive case without justifying the above mentioned three unwarranted assumptions. If he wants to do a good business then these assumptions must be addressed properly.