The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Clearview newspaper.

“In the next mayoral election, residents of Clearview should vote for Ann Green, who is a member of the Good Earth Coalition, rather than for Frank Braun, a member of the Clearview town council, because the current members are not protecting the environment. For example, during the past year the number of factories in Clear view has doubled, air pollution levels have increased, and the local hospital has treated 25% more patient with respiratory illnesses. If we elect Ann green, the environmental problems in Clear view will certainly be solved”.

As technological advancement progresses, so does some of the hazards that accompanies it. In the latter above, the writer contends that the population of factories in Clearview has increased over the years and this has invariably resulted in an increase in the amount of respiratory illnesses being treated in Clearview. In addition, the writer lends credibility to the fact that the members of the town council are negligent in their duty of protecting the environment and therefore a new mayor who is not a member of the town council should be elected. However, I aver to say that this argument is logically flawed and has failed to consider some counter factors.

The writer contends the voting of Frank Braun as the next mayoral candidate and instead suggested that Ann Green should be voted in as the next mayoral candidate because he is a member of the town council, reason being that; the members of the town council has renege on their duty of protecting Clearview. No evidence was provided to bolster this claim because we do not know if the responsibility of protecting Clearview is a responsibility of the members of the town council. Perhaps there is a task force in charge of the welfare of the town. In addition, the increase in factories might be in a bid to provide more job opportunities.

Furthermore, the writer lend credibility to his claim that the number of factories has increased over the years and hence the increase in air pollution. This assertion fails to recognize the fact that the air pollution could have been from other sources; perhaps lack of proper waste disposal management, lack of proper hygiene amidst the resident of Clearview or the use if insecticide or pesticide on their farm land. In addition, there is no proof that the air pollution is from the factories. The factory might even be located far from the residential area in Clearview.

In addition, the writer further corroborated his claim that not only has air pollution increased in Clearview, but also claimed that there is 25% increase in number of patient treated in the local hospital for respiratory illnesses. The people treated might not be residence of Clearview but rather people from neighboring town. The respiratory illnesses being treated can be asthma, obstructive pulmonary disease which might be due to genetics and not necessarily due to air pollution.

Lastly, the writer asserts that if Ann Green becomes the next mayor, the environmental problem would certainly be solved without providing any evidence to strengthen the claim. What if Ann Green was eventually elected and he made rules to cob air pollution and no one followed the rules? Rules without implementation are futile.

In conclusion, for the author to lend more credibility to hid claim, has to substantiate the fact that the air pollution is due to the increased number of factories, and also he has to present tenable reports that the increase in respiratory illnesses treated are due to air pollution and that the treated patients are residents of Clearview.