Issue 112

"In order for any work of art---whether film, literature, sculpture, or a song---to have merit, it

must be understandable to most people."

In this current dispensation, there are various works of art like literature, films, songs, sculpture and a lot more. These pieces of art are used to express a lot of things like our cultural heritage, for aesthetic values and to teach morals. The author contends that for various works of art to have merits or value, it has to be comprehensible to the majority of people. I strongly agree with this and my reasons will be outlined in three points.

To begin with, of what benefit would a work of art be if it's not understandable to people for which it is made? Work of art are not just made to be on there own, they're made to represent a particular thing. For example, a movie intended to teach morals about a particular traditional or cultural heritage to the younger generation has to be clearly understood by those younger generation in order effective pass the intended message. If the movie is so recondite that it can only be understood by a few people, then, the purpose would be defeated.

Secondly as stated in the previous paragraph that the work of art has to be understood by most people in oder to properly pass down the message for which it is intended, sculpture of heros are often erected in public places to honour those heros and to ensure their labous are not forgotten. For example, the sculpture of Oranmiyn erected in ife- Ife Osun state Nigeria, bringing to the remembrace of people that Oranmiyan was the founding father of the Youruba people of Nigeria would almost be meaningless if no one understands the significance of the statue. The staue iis a continual reminder to the Yoruba people of Kogi state of their origin. If no one knows who or why the sculpture is erected there, then it might just serve as any other statues without any historical significance.

Furthermore, apart from the fact that somee work of art are erected in places to honour the labour of our heroes past, works of art, like literature are often used for instructive or teaching purposes. For example, the famous Shakespearean books that was written decades ago are now used in schools for teaching purposes. If the literature was not written in a form that can be understood by majority of the people, then the purpose for which is it being used now will be defeated. In fac, most of the literature was acted into movies for people to watch. If the literature wasn't understood by most people in the first place, how would they be able to act it into a movie?.

In conclusion, some might argue that some work of art are only made for their aesthetic purposes and there's not need for them to be understood but for people to just appreciate there beauty. But sincerely, to be able to effectively appreciate the beauty of an art work, an understanding of thee work is needed. For a work of art to effectively pass the message intended or for it to portray the historical significance door which it was made, it has to be effectively understood by majority of the people.